Posted in Future, humor, Politics

Should Humans Hibernate?

 

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. I’m back today after a busy week of Christmas shopping, Christmas concerts, writing, and working. It feels good to sit down and catch my breath. I love the Christmas season, but it does wear me out.

Photo by Hindrik S on Visual Hunt / CC BY-NC-SA

One day while I was standing in one of the many lines waiting to check out, my mind began to wander and this question floated to the surface of my brain: Are humans supposed to hibernate?

As I slowly moved forward, the wheels in my brain started to turn. I don’t know about you but when winter hits, it’s harder for me to get up in the morning and I want to go to bed earlier at night.

Photo on Visual hunt

This increased need for sleep has me thinking that us humans may be fighting our natural instinct to hibernate in the winter like so many animals do. Not only animals but plants, too. Many of them become dormant in the winter and start growing again in the spring.

It makes me wonder if the world would be a better place if we all just slowed down and took a long winter’s nap. Maybe that’s the natural order of things, and we’re going against the grain. That’s why everyone’s so grumpy. It’s possible, don’t you think?

Photo on VisualHunt.com

 A winter’s nap would cure many things. For example, road rage. If we hibernate in the winter everyone would be getting enough sleep. People would be less likely to fly off the handle when they’re on the road.

It would be the cure for Seasonal Affective Disorder. This disorder is a form of depression that’s triggered by the changing seasons. Mainly winter. Maybe we’re getting depressed because we’re supposed to be sleeping during this time instead of slogging around in the slush and snow.

I wonder how it would affect our economy if we were to sleep during the long winter months. I know my first thought is it would hurt us. It makes sense if we weren’t producing we wouldn’t have any product to sell, but on closer inspection I think it would actually help us.

Photo on Visual hunt

Why? Because we’d have to work with our competitors. After all, every continent experiences winter at a different time. While one is sleeping the other could be going into high production mode and produce goods and services for the one continent that’s in hibernation mode.

We’d have to communicate and rely on our fellow earth dwellers. We’d have to cooperate, eliminating competition. Global cooperation. Now that’s a goal worth striving for, don’t you think?

Photo on Visual Hunt

I know what you’re thinking, what about those countries that don’t have winter? It’s true some don’t have quite as dramatic changes in season as others, but they all experience times when days are shorter than others. So, they are affected as well, just not to the same degree as other continents. So, it could still work.

 

Hibernation. Maybe those wild woodland animals are on to something. Could it really be that simple?

 

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. What do you think? Could hibernation be the answer to our global unrest? Leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

 

Author:

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.

40 thoughts on “Should Humans Hibernate?

  1. I am sure we are hurting ourselves by insisting that every day of the calendar should be just like all the others. We may not be designed to sleep all winter long, but it is undeniable that if we followed our instincts and listened to the needs of our bodies we would be sleeping more and spending more of our waking time just huddling and processing, allowing time for thought, reflection and synthesis before moving on into a fresh cycle of seasons. Nor would women be required to jam through full days at weakened times of the month: bring back the moon house!

  2. This time of year is particularly challenging with so much to do and everyone kind of scurrying about to make the holidays “special.” I use quotes there because it seems like no matter how hard I try, I always justify feel exhausted and like I haven’t really enjoyed the season. I think slowing down, pruning back, enjoying cozy nights and good books, spending time with the most important people, would be my best winter/holiday hibernation. But instead I do too much. And I do MUCH less than other people! I’m dizzy just thinking about it!
    You’re point about a kinder, simpler world if we could all just take a nap when the sun recedes makes so much sense.

    1. I hear you, Angela. I run into the same situation. I’m always running around like a chicken with my head cut off during the holidays. This year, I did do the majority of my shopping online so I’ve been able to enjoy the season more and I’m so thankful this year that everyone in my family is healthy. I think that has a lot to do with it, too. But if I were to take more naps, I’m sure I’d enjoy the season even more. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. You always have good ones! 🙂

  3. I have always secretly envied bears for the fact that they check out for months at a time each year, so of course, I love your idea. But that woman resisting getting out of bed in your first photo might find it much easier if she slept somewhere that wasn’t below the world’s widest sky light.

  4. Ugh. I can’t tell you how many times I have wanted to hibernate! Actually, I kinda do sometimes on the weekends when I’m off… lol.

    You should have a look at my article on SAD (seasonal affective disorder) – there’s some info in there that touches on why we seem to be much sleepier in the winter. Interestingly, your article makes me wonder if it affects animals too and that’s why they hibernate. It would definitely make for interesting scientific and psychological research!

  5. YES! I think a winter hibernation is just what I (we?) need! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wished that I could clap my hands and the tulips would be popping up, the sun would feel warm on my face, and the young ones could run outside without putting on 72 winter clothing items. 🙂

  6. I love the sound of that. That photo you have of the little wooden cabin in the snow makes me want to hibernate! I actually love winter time. 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.