Posted in Health, mental-health, Personal

Variety: The Key to any Successful Exercise Plan

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. I’ve had a busy week of work and writing. It has turned cooler to my chagrin. I’m ready for summer. I’m ready for running outside, boating, and hiking. I went on my first hike last weekend, and it was amazing. The earthy smell of the woods and the sun beating down on my shoulders lifted my spirits.

Woods, Variety: The Key to any Successful Exercise Plan, Lisa Orchard
Photo credit: blavandmaster on VisualHunt.com

Did you know you burn the same amount of calories walking as you do running? I find that interesting. If I hike four miles or run four miles, it’s the same number of calories. The benefits of both types of exercise are different, though.

For example, when I run, I burn calories, I build muscles, and my heart gets a workout. This is important because heart disease runs in my family, and this is the main reason why I run. Of course, there’s the runner’s high I get, but that’s a different benefit. It’s good for my brain, releasing those endorphins that make me feel good mentally.

Running, Variety: The Key to any Successful Exercise Plan, Lisa Orchard
Photo credit: andreas.klodt on VisualHunt

Running is also a stress reliever. It helps me deal with the stress from everyday living. It helps calm me down when I have to deal with an irritable neighbor or just dealing with people in general.

Hiking is also a stress reliever. It calms me when I walk in the woods. It’s also good for me because I breathe in Phytoncides. These are microbes that boost my immune system. Hiking also burns calories. The same number as running.

So, where is all this leading? Good question. In my humble opinion, the secret to maintaining an exercise regiment is variety. Sometimes I hike and sometimes I run. Sometimes I walk on the treadmill when I can’t go outside, and sometimes I lift weights.

It’s this variety that keeps me exercising approximately five days a week. The experts say that exercising five days a week for approximately one hour is a great deterrent for a variety of health problems like cancer, obesity, and heart disease. It’s also good for your brain. Exercise releases those endorphins that make you feel good and brighten your mood.

Variety, Variety: The Key to any Successful Exercise Plan, Lisa Orchard
Photo credit: CaptPiper on VisualHunt

So, get out there and get moving. You’ll be glad you did. Thanks for reading my post. What are your favorite forms of exercise? Leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

Author:

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.

6 thoughts on “Variety: The Key to any Successful Exercise Plan

  1. Lisa, I do think the key to sticking with exercise is in the variety of exercise. I now like lifting weights and playing basketball, as well as the good old fashioned get outside and walk. I tried riding a stationary bike for 30-45 minutes each day and wound up hating that bike after several months in no small part because it served as most all of my exercise habit at that time. Variety is the spice of good exercise.🙂

    1. You are so right, Bruce! I can’t sit on a stationary bike either. It seems to take forever that way. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! I appreciate it!

  2. Yes, variety in one’s exercise program helps keep things interesting and your muscles don’t get used to the same routine over and over again. It truly is the spice of life, Lisa! Great post!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.