Posted in Slice of LIfe, Writing

Slice of Life: A Glimpse of the Writing Life

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’m back today with another Slice of Life Post. Spring break was last week, so I got a quite a bit of writing done. I feel pretty good about my WIP that I finished awhile back. I decided to have another Beta Reader read it and while she read it, I thought of some changes that would make the story stronger. I’m happy to say I’m almost done with the changes and I’m feeling pretty good about them.

While I was driving my kids to the gymnastics place over break, I thought of another idea. I always seem to get them when I can’t write them down. Isn’t that the way it always is? I mulled it over while I watched my little Ninja fly along the gym floor. It’s a good one, but I’ll have to put it on my list. I’ve got three stories going and two new ideas. We’ll see if I can get them all done. Sigh. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed to say the least.

Photo credit: joiseyshowaa via Visualhunt.com / CC BY-SA

But I love writing. It’s such an awesome feeling when the story comes together. I’m sure you know what I mean. 🙂 It’s such a stress reliever for me. However, I’ve noticed that my writing is taking up all my free time. I could sit in my pajamas all day and pound away at my keyboard, but that isn’t practical.

I work around my kids’ schedule and sometimes it’s hard to fit in any writing time. However, I try. I’ve set a goal for at least 1000 words a day. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but when you only have an hour to yourself, sometimes that’s all you can do. I figure in fifty days, I’ll have a fifty thousand word novel written. Of course, that’s just the rough draft. Once that’s done, that’s when the real work begins.

The editing takes me the longest because I’m a pantser and there’s a lot of editing when you’re a pantser. But I can’t seem to follow an outline. It takes the wind out of my sails. I like to start a story and let the characters take control. It’s fun to see what they’ll do or what situations they’ll get themselves in.

Photo credit: Harald Groven via VisualHunt / CC BY-SA

How do you like to write? Are you a plotter or a pantser? Leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, it’s just a quick glimpse into a writer’s life. I hope you enjoyed it. To read some other Slice of Lifer’s Posts, click here.

Author:

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life: A Glimpse of the Writing Life

    1. I know what you mean Adrienne when I do classroom visits and I tell the kids I’m a pantser the teachers grit there teeth and shake their heads! Now, I don’t tell the kids that! 🙂

    1. I know. I always get frustrated when I can’t get it down right away! 🙂 Ahhh…the writer’s life! 🙂

  1. Thanks so much for this. I just discovered that I too am a panster! Since i figured out how to use my iphone to record text, I find it easier to pause in the middle of my crazy life and write down fragments, lines and bits of ideas as they come to me. Hurrah for technology.

    1. Way to go, Cheriee! Yes technology is awesome when it works! There’s also dictation software available where you can dictate what you want to write. I know another author who swears by it. I haven’t tried it yet, but I might if I get tired of typing. Thanks for stopping by! We pantsers have to stick together. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.