A Review of “The Orphan’s Tale”

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’ve been working on my latest WIP and I’m excited about this new one, too. I’ve sent my first one off to my Beta reader and she gave me some quick feedback. She told me the opening was AWESOME! So, you can guess I’m beyond excited. I’ll keep you posted as she continues reading the rest. 🙂

I’m back today to share with you my thoughts on “The Orphan’s Tale.” The cover and blurb are below:

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by [Jenoff, Pam]

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

As you know, I love reading WWII stories. Especially ones where the main character, usually a Jew, overcomes the adversity of Nazi Germany and that is exactly what this story is about.

I absolutely loved it.

It’s the story of Noa and Astrid. How they meet and their relationship. I loved Noa who is young, strong, and naïve. She’s kicked out of her home when she becomes pregnant by a German soldier. She goes to a home for unwed mothers and because her baby has German blood, he is taken away from her. Mourning her loss, she finds work at the train station and happens upon a car full of babies. I won’t tell you what happens next, but it’s an incredible story.

Then there’s Astrid, a Jew married to a German who’s also a member of the Nazi party. He comes home one day and tells her the marriage is over. The Reich is demanding that all members married to Jews get a divorce. She has to pack up and leave that very day. She travels back to her home town searching for her family, but they’re all gone. She used to be a circus performer so she travels to a competitor’s home inquiring about her family. She learns the awful truth and the owner asks her to join his circus.

The circus is how Noa and Astrid meet and the rest of the story takes off from there. They both have their secrets and the girls band together and protect each other. It’s an amazing story of friendship and survival. If you’re a WWII buff like me, you’ll want to read this story. I can see it becoming a movie very soon.

Like I said, I loved this story and I’m going to be looking for more books from this author. How about you, do you have any books you’d like to recommend? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

 

 

Advertisements

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Review of “The Orphan’s Tale”

  1. Thanks for your suggestion Lisa! I am always interested in a good read and based on your review this sounds like an excellent book!

  2. I’m sure I would love this book. Most of my WWII-related reading has thus far been confined to The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, but since you’re a WWII buff, chances are you’re well aware of that one.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I am aware of it, but I haven’t read it yet. I’ll put it on my list for this summer. 🙂

      • Be forewarned: it’s quite an undertaking. I’m a voracious reader, but it took me the majority of a year to get through that tome. But it’s worth it. Very readable and fascinating.

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        Thanks for the heads up. I will definitely read it. I’m still reading Nancy Jo Sales book about Social Media and it’s effects on teens. That one’s a little disturbing, but I’m glad I’m reading it. 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    I’m hooked on (yes, I went there) biographies right now.
    Like Phil Hartman’s for example.
    This review has inspired me to broaden my horizons, though…
    Thanks, Lisa!

  4. Bernadette says:

    Thanks for the recommendation. I definitely will read it. If you like this book, you should try the Zookeeper’s Wife. I really enjoyed it and it set in the same period and based on a true story.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I did read that one, Bernadette and I liked it, too. 🙂 I’m planning on going to the movie when it comes out in this area. I love stories like this and I hope some day to travel to see where Anne Frank was hiding and maybe take a tour through some of the concentration camps. I’m just amazed that one person was able to almost wipe out the Jewish population. It’s very scary and I hope it’s never repeated.

  5. thebeasley says:

    Love book recommendations. Thanks Lisa. Have pinned x

  6. Lydia says:

    This book sounds really good. Would you say it’s a tearjerker? Should I have a box of tissues ready before I dive in? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s