Posted in Personal, Writing

The Writing Life…

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. I’ve had a busy week of work and writing. My neck is feeling much better and I’m thinking about getting back into my exercise routine, but I won’t be running on the treadmill. There won’t be another treadmill season in the Orchard house. In my opinion, I need to run on harder surfaces if I’m going to run. So, I’m going to have to find another form of exercise during the winter months.

But enough about that. Today, I’d like to talk about the writing life. I haven’t spoken about this in a while, so I felt that I should address it today.

Writing is a solitary endeavor. We writers create by ourselves and work with editors and beta readers to produce a viable product. It’s time consuming and takes us away from our families and friends.

Sometimes, it can be discouraging. The waiting for an acceptance or rejection of a manuscript can take a long time. It can get downright lonely.

So, it’s important to have a creative community who supports you. They don’t all have to be writers. They can be artists, or sculptors, or photographers. These people will understand your struggle. They will support you in ways your family can’t because they don’t understand.  I have an artist friend who I get together maybe once or twice a month and paint with her. I’m no artist, but it’s always good to take a break and do something different. I support her art, and she supports my writing.

Another way to combat the anxiety of waiting is to start another project. Work on something else. If you do get an acceptance, you’ll be a step ahead of the game because you have another project to offer.

Still another way, is to take a break from writing all together. Spend time with your family. Go on a trip and enjoy some down time. Maybe even read. 😉

Exercise is another great way to deal with the stress of writing. Get out of the chair and move your body. Get those endorphins moving, it’ll help with the creative process. Trust me.

So, there you have it. Some ways to combat the loneliness and stress of writing. How about you, how do you deal with it? Leave a comment! I love to hear from you!

Author:

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.

9 thoughts on “The Writing Life…

  1. All great ways, Lisa! Sometimes stepping away and doing something different is just what the Muse ordered. Wink. Have you ever tried an elliptical? They’re a great replacement for a treadmill. Cheers, girlfriend!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Sharon. I appreciate your support. I am going to try an elliptical. I’m planning on joining the same gym my son goes to, they have them there. 🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by, I’m glad you have a creative community. I appreciate mine! Yes, my neck is much better. It only took 2 months. Sigh. But what a relief! 🙂

  2. Writing is definitely a creative process and therefore one needs to be in the right frame of mind for writing. Not everyone understands this. Good to know you are doing better, Lisa.

  3. I was a member of a longstanding writing group, which met in person about once a month. As we all aged and COVID hit, some of our older members moved onto other things and were also nervous about in-person meetups. While we may continue to meet for lunch on occasion, that doesn’t really help my writing life. Luckily, a blogger friend and writer invited me to join her writing group, which has switched from in-person to Zoom due to the pandemic. For my money, that’s the one and only benefit of these pandemic days, more access to writing life resources!

    1. I hear you. The world sure is a different place due to the pandemic. I joined a writing group a while back too, but stopped going because of scheduling conflicts. I’m still friends with many of the people in the group. I went to a writing conference in February and it was done via zoom and it went well. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.