Consider the Hammer: A Slice of Life Post

 

Write. Share. Give.

 

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you. I’ve been busy with family events this last weekend. My cousin got married! Yea! It was a beautiful ceremony, filled with tears and laughter. Aren’t those the best kind? Β So today, for my Slice of Life Post, I thought I’d share a poem with you. Something fun and quick that makes me think of the writing process.. I didn’t write this poem and I’m not sure who did, but it does hit the nail on the head! πŸ˜‰ Pun intended!

 

Consider the Hammer
Poet: Unknown

Photo credit: James Bowe via Visualhunt / CC BY

Consider the hammer –

It keeps its head.
It doesn’t fly off the handle.
It keeps pounding away.
It finds the point,
then drives it home.

It looks at the other side, too,
and thus often clinches the matter.
It makes mistakes, but when it does,
it starts all over.
It is the only knocker in the world
That does any good.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post.If you’d like to read other Slice of Life Posts, clickΒ here.

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Slice of LIfe, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Consider the Hammer: A Slice of Life Post

  1. Bernadette says:

    Great post. My son gave Dom a hammer inscribed “to the man who helped me to build my life”.

  2. “It’s the only knocker in the wood that does any good” I love that line.
    Our assistant principal was called “the hammer” but he did a world of good for our kids.

  3. MAK says:

    Great writing idea for students – “Consider the…”.

  4. blkdrama says:

    Love your hammer!!!!!

  5. Adrienne says:

    This applies to so many things!

  6. Linda Baie says:

    Love it, and thought you were going to share that this was your wedding gift, not a bad idea with the wonderful poem, too.

  7. sharonledwith says:

    Love the metaphors in this poem, Lisa! Cheers for sharing. You hit the nail…well, you know! Wink!

  8. Great metaphors in this poem! We could all use to be a little more hammer-like.

  9. ALR says:

    I wanna be a hammer!!

  10. I am not familiar with that poem. Thanks for sharing. It has some good life lessons.

  11. Pingback: Consider the Hammer: A Slice of Life Post | The Cat's Meow for Writers & Readers Magazine

  12. Amy Warntz says:

    I love this! What a great way to use descriptive writing. This would be a great mentor text for my writers and readers! Thanks for sharing!

  13. kind of reminds me of myself… except flying off the handle.. sometimes that happens!

  14. cmargocs says:

    I like unusual pairings, like your hammer to writing! I will have to remember this to spur my students’ creative thinking this school year.

  15. That’s a really good poem! Thank you for sharing it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

