Posted in Slice of LIfe

Summer Fun: A Slice of Life Post

 

Write. Share. Give.

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’m back today with another Slice of Life Post. We have just returned from our vacation on Torch Lake. So as I’m writing this, I’m also doing a boat load of laundry. 🙂

IMG_20160713_210856843_HDR
Sunset on Torch Lake with the fam!

 

We stayed at the cottage most of the time because the days were hot and it’s so nice to walk out our back door and jump in the water. I love Michigan summers. The humid days and the hot steamy nights. I love lying awake and listening to the waves lap the shore. And the sunsets! Oh, the sunsets are the most amazing thing. The yolk of the sun winking at us as it slides past the horizon, turning the sky gold and fuchsia while sinking further below the skyline.

IMG_20160713_211631497_HDR
Sunset on Torch Lake (It was windy!)

Then there’s looking at the moon and sometimes you can see Mars if the sky is clear enough. Our earth is such an exceptional place and so many of us don’t appreciate it. We’re locked in our little lives, dealing with our day to day hassles and irritations that we forget to look at the sunset, or listen to the rain, or watch lightning streak across the sky.

We all need to stop and take a breath and look and LISTEN. Listen to the birds chirping in the trees, listen to the water breaking on the shore, listen to the night as we settle down for sleep. It brings such a sense of peace and we realize our problems don’t need to consume us. We can let go of them for a little while and just appreciate being here.

I love the wonder of nature and all its beauty don’t you? I hope I’m fostering a love of nature in my boys. I’m always pulling them outside to look at the moon and Mars. They see me taking pictures of the sunset. They look, but I don’t think they truly see. Well. Maybe they do. They just don’t see at the same time I do. 🙂

IMG_20160713_210447611_HDR
This is my youngest’s contribution to my sunset photos. 🙂 He’s a photobomber!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. If you’d like to read other Slice of Life Posts, click here..

 

Author:

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.

19 thoughts on “Summer Fun: A Slice of Life Post

  1. Lovely pictures!! I connected w/ this paragraph: “We all need to stop and take a breath and look and LISTEN. Listen to the birds chirping in the trees, listen to the water breaking on the shore, listen to the night as we settle down for sleep. It brings such a sense of peace and we realize our problems don’t need to consume us. We can let go of them for a little while and just appreciate being here.” Stopping to LISTEN is one of the hardest things we will ever do because it’s something we’re just not used to doing! Life’s biggest challenge, I believe, is to sit still.

  2. What wonderful photos! Love the way you described the sunsets!
    I enjoyed reading your post about this special time for your family.
    Precious moments.
    So true. We need to listen and enJOY.
    Side note: We live in Canada, but my husband is from Michigan. Grew up in Kentwood. I’m going to go look up Torch Lake!

      1. I talked to my hubby and Jim Druart doesn’t ring a bell. Don’t you think it’s a synchronistic event that both our husbands went to Kentwood? It must be a sign, but of what? 😉

  3. Happy you had a great time with your family, Lisa! I know what you mean about the humid days and steamy nights! Love it! Enjoy every moment, cherish your memories! Hugs, girlfriend!

  4. A lovely realizing post. I recently spent a week at my sister’s house, in the woods 3 hours north of Toronto. It felt like camping and was so relaxing. The world is truly a marvelous place.

  5. Great post! I’m sure your boys are absorbing your love of nature. You might not see it now, but you will. I used to think the same about my son. Now he loves to take pictures of the night sky… from our roof. (So now I get to worry about that.) Thanks again… I wanna go to Michigan now!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Marilyn! I think you’d love our state. We’ve got some amazing waterfalls and the Upper Peninsula has some awesome sights, too. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.