The Power of Words

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’m back today to talk about the power of words.  2017 has started off with a bang. First we’ve had the march on Washington, and now we have this new executive order where citizens from certain countries aren’t allowed to enter the US. Then we had a judge issue a nationwide stay on part of Trump’s executive order. It has been an eventful weekend that’s for sure.

Photo via VisualHunt

          These are interesting times to be living in to say the least. The events from this weekend illustrate the need for good communication. From my research, I’ve gathered that Trump’s executive order was confusing. Of course, I don’t know if it’s true or not, we can’t believe the media these days, but that’s another blog post for another day. 🙂

Right now the English language is deteriorating into text messages and a kind of digital short hand. For the most part, that’s okay, we text every day, but we don’t write executive orders every day. That doesn’t mean we don’t need to learn how to write professional documents and letters because we do.

Photo via Visual hunt

 

Regardless of the political climate, we still need to communicate via the written word. We still need to create legal documents, contracts, write prescriptions, and medical information. If we don’t know how to write this type of information, confusion will be the result.

Now more than ever, we need to have the ability to communicate. People have taken to social media as a way to spout their beliefs. That’s okay, what’s not okay is the dissension it’s causing among friends and family members. The way we’re communicating is destroying friendships and splitting families up. We need to turn this trend around.

Photo via Visual Hunt

          Part of communication is listening to the other side. Listening to their concerns and taking them into consideration. In a marriage, you have to negotiate. You have to listen to your partner and take into consideration what his or her needs and desires are. A very wise friend once told me, when you’re in a stalemate with your partner, you’ll have to accept that you won’t get your way and neither will he, but there’s a third alternative that you both can live with. I think that concept applies to our world today. We need to find an alternative we all can live with.

Photo credit: naikalieva via Visual hunt / CC BY-SA

 

The only way to do that is by sharing our beliefs without attacking the other side. So when you choose to write something or to speak, choose your words wisely. Your words have the power to create dissension or encourage peace. I say let’s work toward peace. After all, we only have one earth and we all want to live here. 🙂

Photo via Visual hunt

           Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. Do you have any ideas how we can move forward peacefully? I’d love to read your views, leave a comment and share them with all of us!

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Power of Words

  1. April Munday says:

    Words are very powerful and the first step is probably not expressing the first thing that comes into our heads. The second step might be thinking about how best to express the second (or better yet, third) thing that comes into our heads so that it’s clear.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      You’re so right, April. We need to be very careful in the way we share our opinions. I think if we’re emotional, it’s best to wait until we’re not before we continue the conversation. 🙂

  2. Louise says:

    I agree with not saying the first thing that comes to mind. Thinking before responding. The other piece of debate I often think about as I watch it is the lack of actually responding to what is being said. There are many times I can tell someone is simply waiting their turn to speak and will say what they are going to say regardless of what the person they are “debating” with has said. In a world of prepared statements, I’m not sure how to fix that, but I think it goes to the heart of the issue.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I totally agree, Louise! That does go straight to the heart of the issue. Now if we could find a way to change that. I think it would be for the greater good. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      • Louise says:

        I often wonder about possible lack of ability to debate? Ie: I think of Parliament (I’m Canadian) in the world pre-cameras and television; and I think debate then was stronger – both more spontaneous and more genuine. It was in part oratory, in part conversation – an actual point – counterpoint. I also know I never learnt how to debate in school. Lots of focus on public speaking. But debate? I know friends who joined debating teams, but that was … odd. And totally extra-curricular. And in my university career, I have many memories of classroom debate somewhat dominated by whoever was the loudest and of failing to make my point because by the time I had formed it, we had moved on. So I wonder if the skill has simply been lost by many of us. No idea if that’s accurate, but it’s my perception based on my experience.

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        I agree with you, Louise. I believe we’ve lost the ability to debate or argue our point without getting emotional about it. I think debate should be a requirement in schools, it is another form of communication after all. We need to give our kids skills on how to argue their point in an acceptable manner so the other side hears them. I also think we need to teach our kids how to negotiate. When they go out in the work world they’re going to have to negotiate their salaries, ask for raises, and deal with many things they don’t have to deal with now. They need to practice and hone these skills now so they’ll have them when the time comes. Hmmm…that could be another blog post! 🙂

      • Louise says:

        That does sound like another blog post! As for a school requirement – I wonder how to fit everything already required in there (I could also start in on lack of history, not enough gym, maybe civics should be more focussed on etc… and my kids are already in an extra program to help them learn math because my eldest doesn’t seem to be learning it in school…) but it is certainly a topic worthy of well, respectful debate 🙂 Thanks for giving me my “make me think” read and discussion of the day!

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        You’re welcome! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your ideas. You’ve got some good ones, that’s for sure! 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    I wish President Donald Trump could read this post before signing any more Executive Orders, Lisa…

  4. sharonledwith says:

    You’re right, it has been an eventful January! I totally agree with choosing your words wisely – respond don’t react. Listening to others, absorbing their words and the intent within them can make for smooth waters and long-lasting friendships. Cheers on a great post, Lisa!

  5. It’s funny because my mom says she is getting all of that turmoil from her friends on Facebook, where she will say something neutral, and both sides tear it apart, or tear each other apart for tearing it apart, or…, etc.
    It’s sad. We need to start discouraging conversational narcissism, and promoting actually listening and discussing things.

  6. I like the idea of a third alternative.

  7. I wonder if they still teach letter writing in schools? Ha ha, perhaps not!

  8. robjodiefilogomo says:

    I do believe that listening is super important. Because even if you don’t agree with someone, it’s good to find out the reasoning behind their thoughts & actions!!
    jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

  9. Love, Laughter & Truth says:

    Couldn’t agree more, well said!

  10. Pingback: The Impact of Social Media: A Slice of Life Post | lisaorchard

  11. Nina says:

    Great site you have here. 🙂

  12. oneta hayes says:

    Thanks for visiting me today, Lisa. I hope to see you more often. I’m marking your follow.

Leave a Reply

