Self Compassion Goals for 2017

 

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you had a joyous and happy holiday season. I’m looking forward to 2017, I’ve got some lofty goals that I hope come to fruition. So cross your fingers for me!

Photo credit: James Marvin Phelps via Visual hunt / CC BY-NC

This new year I’m participating in a Self-Compassion Group and I’m excited about it because I feel it will remind me to take better care of myself. Each member posts one thing that they did that day to take care of themselves.  It’s not my idea, it’s a friend of mine’s but it’s an awesome one and I’m grateful that she’s sharing this adventure with me.

Photo credit: Mary Brack ~ www.foundonbrighton.com via VisualHunt / CC BY-NC-SA

I think a lot of people get wrapped up in their tasks for their kids, spouse, and job, they put themselves last. I know I do it and that’s when I get burned out. So I’ve joined this group to remind myself to do a self-care task every day. It doesn’t have to be big. It could be something as simple as meditating or reading a book.

 

I feel if I do this. I’ll actually be more productive and my relationships will be better.  I thought I’d share some of my self-care tasks with all of you and maybe it will motivate you to take better care of yourselves, too. I thought the first day of 2017 would be a great time to start this.

15747559_10210377864157415_9147911253088206828_n-1

The Meme Above explains the Philosophy behind the Self Compassion Group.

 

Self-Care Tasks:

  1. I’m going to read more in 2017 and write more. Writing and reading are great stress relievers for me. 🙂
  1. More bubble baths. There’s nothing more soothing than a bubble bath with candles and soft music.
  1. More exercise. More running. This is a big one. I’ve been working hard on getting my sciatica under control and I’ve seen a big improvement. So I’m going to increase my activity and get back into shape.
  1. More walks in nature. It’s so soothing and calms my anxiety.
  1. I’m going to eat more fruit and vegetables. I need to stop eating so much sugar. I feel this will help me manage my weight and who knows, maybe I’ll even lose a pound or two. 😉
  2. I’m going to paint with a group of friends once a month just for fun. I find connecting with them over a fun activity is healing for me.

Photo credit: Tadie88 via Visual hunt / CC BY-NC-ND

So there you have it. Some of the self-compassion tasks I’ll be practicing at least once a day. I’m sure I’ll come up with more ideas from the other members as we share them. How about you? Do you have any ideas? I’d love to read them. Leave a comment! I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Health, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Self Compassion Goals for 2017

  1. Sounds like a great way to start off your new year! When we treat ourselves well, it’s easier to maintain our health and to care more fully and deeply for those you love. I am always reminded of a comment made on Oprah years ago. On the plane, the flight attendant always reminds passengers that if it should go down, we put on our oxygen mask first before helping others. The same holds true in real life, we need to take care of ourselves first before helping others.

  2. Bernadette says:

    Happy New Year Lisa. The idea of a self compassion group is marvelous.

  3. Clanmother says:

    Happy New Year!! A great start to a fresh beginning! Lovely.

  4. sharonledwith says:

    Love the idea of posting one thing you’ve done about taking care of yourself, Lisa! Love the motto too, so true! We need to take care of ourselves before we can attempt to take care of others! Cheers and Happy New Year!

  5. That’s a great idea! I expect that you will see many benefits! 🙂 Happy New Year! 😀

  6. Wow! I feel like I’ve just found a like-minded soul! My focus at present is all about self love and self care -and self compassion is right up there. In fact I wrote about it once (about a year ago I think) and am now trying to put it into practice. Will look forward to following your progress and learnings. So glad I found you! 🙂

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I’m so glad you found me, too! We can compare notes and see which goals worked for us and which one’s didn’t. I love it when I find like minded people in the blogosphere! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  7. Skilbey says:

    Lovely post. And if we are nicer to ourselves, we are nicer to others. It’s a win-win situation. A great plan that we all need to take on board. Thanks!

  8. Jane says:

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post! It is the little changes that will make the biggest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  9. [Jumped over from Wednesday’s Senior Salon]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Great focus for 2017 – we all deserve to include ourselves in the people to whom we show kindness and appreciation. Your group sounds wonderful.

    I have a few of your items on my intentions list too, along with reactivating my Three Tiny Things Gratitude Journal practice to remind myself every day of the ways I am taken care of already.

    One of the underlying “good reasons for Self-care” I seldom see, even on great posts like this one, is the need to provide positive models for our collective daughters. I believe we already do well passing on the memes of generosity and kindness to others, but unless girls see us being kind to ourselves, they are likely to absorb the message a bit askew.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

  10. This is great. What a great group. How do you join?

  11. scskillman says:

    Thank you for this post. I think what you say is very wise. Many of us have much less compassion on ourselves than we do on others, with negative and critical self-talk etc. In a couple of weeks time I’m going to try Compassion-based therapy with a group I belong to, and am hoping it will be a breakthrough. My self-care tasks will be reading books, and walking in nature – and alongside that challenging every piece of critical self-talk by replacing it with a positive!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Good for you! Positive self talk is so important to our well being as well. If you keep doing it, it’ll become a habit and then you won’t even be conscious that you’re doing it. And I love your Self Compassion goals! Reading books and walking in nature are excellent stress relievers! 🙂 You go girl!

  12. You left this link on my blog awhile back, and I’ve finally got brave enough to read it. Thank you for sharing this. I needed to see that I’m not the only one needing support and setting such goals. Your goals are very near to what i believe will help me to help myself too, so I will take them all to heart and see what I can make of it. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

