An Author Visit: A Slice of Life Post

slice of life_individual

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’m back today with another Slice of Life Post and I wanted to share with you my inspiration for writing. It’s the kids. Last week I had an Author visit at a local school. I presented to a fourth grade class, and they were so excited to learn about writing and what it takes to write a book.

I wasn’t there long before I was infected by their boundless enthusiasm. Their hands waved frantically as they squirmed, waiting for me to call on them.They had so many questions.

How many books had I written?

Which book was my first one?

Which one was my favorite?

Who was my favorite character?

 

On and on it went. I loved their enthusiasm. They were so sweet and they asked such good questions.

 

The kids are the reason I keep writing. I love hearing stories about how my books have turned a reluctant reader on to reading. It warms my heart and it’s incredible to be able to reach these kids in such a positive way. These kids also inspire me. Their enthusiasm and ability to believe that all things are possible is infectious.I needed a big dose of that last week.

Below is a pic with me and the kids. Look at those happy faces!

img_4835

Me and all those awesome fourth graders!

 

Not only did I have an awesome day during my author visit, but the next day I received all of these Thank you cards (see the pic below). So, this one event had a positive effect on two whole days and that positive feeling extended throughout the week. It has become a wonderful memory for me. 🙂

img_20160918_145914513

 

Thanks for letting me share my author visit with all of you. This event was the highlight of my week and I enjoyed it immensely. If you’d like to read other Slice of Life Posts click here.

If you’d like to check out the books these smiling faces were so excited about, click here. (It was the Super Spies series we were talking about. 🙂 ).

What was your favorite day last week? What occurred that made you smile? Leave a comment! I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Slice of LIfe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to An Author Visit: A Slice of Life Post

  1. It’s so fun to hear about an author’s visit from the author’s perspective. It sounds like you inspired them as much as they inspired you!

  2. Bernadette says:

    How much fun you all look like you are having and not a bit of toilet paper in sight.😀

  3. sharonledwith says:

    Sound like a job well done! Happy children interested in writing and books are the fruits of your labors! Cheers!

  4. Adrienne says:

    Like Jennifer, I think it is fun to hear the author’s perspective on an author visit. I could feel the energy and excitement you all felt.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Adrienne. I’m so glad you felt the energy because I sure did. I was feeling so inspired when I left that classroom, all I wanted to do was go home and write, write, write! 🙂

  5. What a blessing to inspire children so much. I smiled reading this. Thank you.

  6. Rosie says:

    What a wonderful story to read this morning. Sounds like it was a success from both your perspective and theirs. It’s always enjoyable to see children interested in reading, seems so many are not into reading including my 12 yr old. LOL . Thanks for sharing your visit with us! 🙂

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      You’re welcome, Rosie! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. As for your 12 year old, maybe she just hasn’t found the right books yet. Sometimes that’s all it takes. The Percy Jackson Series turned my son onto reading. I also have an author friend who had a reluctant reader and she gave her my first Super Spies book. She not only devoured the story, but read it twice and then demanded to get the other books in the series. I’ve got to write more to keep up with the demand. 🙂 Sorry. this answer became much longer than I anticipated! 🙂

  7. cvarsalona says:

    Lisa, I am so glad that you enjoyed your author’s visit as much as the children enjoyed listening to you.

  8. Clanmother says:

    What we do, what we say, what we write has meaning to others around us. One conversation can change the course of a lifetime. Sometimes it is a memory of something long ago that will give insight into a problem. So keep on writing!!! Have a great day. Sunshine coming your way from Vancouver Canada!!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Oh, Rebecca you are so right! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your words of wisdom with all of us.I appreciate it, and thanks for the sunshine! We’ve had awesome weather here, and I hope it continues!

  9. Rita K. says:

    Lisa, As a teacher, I always loved author’s visits. I can only imagine how gratifying they are for an author. I’m excited to check out your books and share them with parents and kids.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks, Rita! It is gratifying for an author and it’s an amazing feeling when the kids are filled with enthusiasm. When you check out my books keep in mind they’re not as scary as the titles and covers look. I needed them to capture their attention. Also, there is no questionable content or swearing in the Super Spies books. 🙂

  10. ritamonette says:

    It’s all about the kids! Glad everyone had fun!

  11. What a great perspective about an author visit – from an author! That picture shows just how much fun an author visit can be!

  12. robjodiefilogomo says:

    What a great way to be inspired and inspire others at the same time!!!
    jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

  13. joanneeddy says:

    Hi Lisa – There is nothing in the world more energizing to me than kids…well, babies, too! It is is great when kids get inspired to read stories by others…and write their own stories. I am sure you inspired many of them…a great gift for them, I’m sure. Jo

Leave a Reply

