A Case of Paronychia: A Slice of Life Post

 

 

slice of life_individual

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you! I’m back with another Slice of Life Post, and today I’m talking about Paronychia. I’ve never heard of this condition until last week, but let me tell you it is not fun.

I’ve been trying to get back into shape this summer, so I’ve been running. I started out running three miles and then adding more each week. I was up to five miles when Paronychia struck.

Image result for pictures of paronychia

This is not my toe, but my toe did look similar to this.

I had just completed an awesome five mile run. I had that runner’s high that you get when you’re done. I could have run another five miles that’s how good I felt. But I didn’t because I didn’t want to overdo it. This summer has been very hot and humid, and it’d be real easy for me to give myself heat stroke or something.

 

IMG_20160820_180358417_TOP.jpg

This is me after my five mile run, doing the Bolt move. I can’t quite pull it off like he was able to. 🙂

After my run,  I came home and cleaned up. When I finally sat down, I noticed the nail on my big toe seemed bent at a weird angle. I got out the clippers and prepared to cut it.That’s when I noticed that it was a little swollen and tender. Something wasn’t right.

I continued clipping my nail and when I was done, I sat back and examined my toe. That’s when I noticed a clear liquid oozing out from under my nail. This threw me for a loop. I kept pressing on the nail until the clear liquid stopped flowing out. Then I went to bed. I figured a good night sleep would cure it.

It didn’t. I woke up with a swollen toe and more oozing. That’s when my hubby got involved. He took a look at it and claimed I had Paronychia, and my toe had to be amputated. When he left the bathroom to get the meat cleaver,  I took the opportunity to jump in the shower.

Photo credit: Ryan Christopher VanWilliams – NYC via VisualHunt / CC BY-NC-ND

He returned with the cleaver in hand, I told him I had to get to work so the amputation would have to wait until later that night.  He bought that excuse, put the cleaver down, and went to work. I know he was getting the cleaver out of love…but maybe he didn’t need to love me so much… you know. 🙂

On a side note: I did ask my hubby if Misery was his favorite movie. He’s always saying he’s my Number One Fan. (Bites nails) But it isn’t, so we’re all good. 🙂 He is a Stephen King fan, though…. (chews nails and paces).

Photo credit: AZRainman via Visual Hunt / CC BY

After my shower, I got dressed for work and quickly hid the meat cleaver. There was going to be no amputation because of a little toe infection, and that’s what it was. An infection of the cuticle around my toe.

I’ve never had this before, and my toe swelled up so I couldn’t wear shoes. I had to drain it each day.(I also soaked my toe in hydrogen peroxide) That clear fluid never turned to pus like the hubs said it would, though. This is important because he thinks he’s right about everything. And he usually is, which is an annoying idiosyncrasy. But hey, we’ve all got them, right. 🙂

It took about a week, but the swelling has finally gone down and the oozing has stopped. The nail looks a little bruised, but for the most part it’s fine.

Why am I sharing this with all of you? To let you know if your hubby says you have Paronychia and wants to perform an amputation. It is NOT necessary. You can save your toe. You just have to wait it out, or go to the doctor and get some antibiotics. This has been a PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT. 🙂

So, has your husband ever wanted to perform emergency surgery for you? Leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Slice of LIfe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to A Case of Paronychia: A Slice of Life Post

  1. Having toe issues are the worst! But maybe having unnecessary surgery is even worse. 🙂

  2. Adrienne says:

    That looks really painful! On a funny note, my mother had both sec on toes amputated because she had such terrible hammertoe. It still freaks me out to see her bare feet. I’m glad your husband didn’t have to amputate yours!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I am, too, Adrienne! I’m rather clumsy as it is, can you imagine how clumsy I’d be if I had my big toe amputated? I shudder to think of it! I’m sorry to hear about your Mom’s toes, but I bet she’s happier now that she doesn’t have to deal with the hammertoe.

  3. sharonledwith says:

    LOL! Great post, Lisa! Seems the Universe wanted you to slow down a bit. Your hubby meant well, but just in case hide anything sharp… Feel better! At least it’s not your fingers and you can still write! Wink.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    I admire that you made this funny, but imagine it was not “very”. I have no toe stories, but my daughter-in-law who runs is challenged by Plantar Fasciitis, a tough thing to fix. Hope this toe problem goes away never to return!

  5. Bernadette says:

    Very funny blog. You sure do know how to make lemonade out of lemons.😀

  6. I have never heard of that condition, but I’m glad I now know what to do if it ever happens to me!

  7. Tara Smith says:

    You made me gasp with horror and then laugh out loud. Glad your story has a happy ending.

  8. alr says:

    OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. robjodiefilogomo says:

    That’s such a bummer, but at least it’s getting better!
    jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

  10. Joyful2bee says:

    What a helpful husband you have? LOL

  11. I really enjoyed your fun take on a painful toe. Well done.

  12. joanneeddy says:

    Made me laugh, Lisa. My husband tends to “extreme answers” as well. When I got Plantar Fascitis, from speed walking (inflammation of the tendon in the arch of your foot and the heel, sometimes with an overnight Achilles tendon), I’m lucky I still have a foot! It was a long slow healing process and I’m sure he considered amputation…or gagging me to stop my complaints! Then there was the time I tore my meniscus tripping over our daughter’s dog….but he has restrained his natural impulses just like your husband! Gotta love these guys! Jo

  13. Karuna says:

    I love your post! You and your husband are both very funny. (I’m a Stephen King fan too so I understand. Misery is one scary movies.) I have never heard of Paronychia either, and hope to never meet it. I’m glad you didn’t need the axe.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Karuna! I’m glad I didn’t need the axe as well.. Misery was definitely one scary movie and Kathy Bates did such an awesome job. Whenever I think of the words “I’m you’re Number One Fan,” I think of her and kind of shudder. 😉

      • Karuna says:

        That movie is really old now, and the fact that it can still make us shutter is remarkable. I feel the same about The Shining.

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        Oh, I know! That was such a scary movie! Jack Nickolson did an incredible job in that movie. I remember a scene where he’s breaking down a door with an axe and he pokes his head through the hole he just created and says, “Here’s Johnny!” Boy. We are going way back! We’re showing our age! LOL!

      • Karuna says:

        Yes we are, although my children were Stephen King fans also, as was their dad. Now they are 39 and 42, or at least close to it.

        I was reading The Shining at the time my husband and I separated. I would only read it during the day since it was only my kids and me in the house but then I got to a point in the story where I couldn’t put it down so I read it at night. I really scared myself that night.

      • Karuna says:

        I’m presently reading The Stand which was one of our favorite books. It is really interesting to reading it when the world is in the state it is in. It seems a lot more real than it probably did then.

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        “The Stand” is one of my all time favorite books. There are so many parrallels that you can draw from that story and the way the world is today. 🙂

        Other Stephen King books I absolutely loved were “Firestarter,” and “Christine.” Both of them were awesome stories!

      • Karuna says:

        The Stand feels very real now even though it was very meaningful even back when I read it.

        I read them both Firestarter and Christine and watched the movies. Maybe some day I will read them again. And of course there was Carrie!

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        Oh my gosh! How could I forget “Carrie?” That one was very scary, too. All that pig’s blood!

Leave a Reply

