Kindness: A Slice of Life Post

Write. Share. Give.

 

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’m back today and I want to tell you I was pleasantly surprised by how well received my post on The Kindness of Strangers was. This inspired me to write another post on Kindness. I was thinking (this always scares my hubby) about when we’re trying to perform random acts of kindness and we run into unkind people. What do we do?

Photo credit: jessica wilson {jek in the box} via Visualhunt.com / CC BY-NC-ND

 

For a long time, I would make excuses for bad behavior. “Oh, Sally’s having a bad day.” And I would turn the other cheek and go along my way. However, what happens when that person is continually unkind? When do we stop turning the other cheek? When does her behavior go from having a bad day to emotionally abusive? This my friends is where we have to decide how much of this unkind behavior we are willing to tolerate.  Everyone has a different tolerance level.

For me, I’ll start investing my own time into trying to figure out what the problem is. I’ll ask Sally if I’ve done something to upset her. If I don’t get any information from her, there’s nothing I can do.  I don’t have the tools to help her with her issue at this time. When this starts to happen, I know I’ve reached my limit.I stop spending a lot of time trying to figure out what I’ve done wrong because I figure, If I had done something wrong, Sally would’ve told me. At this point, I go into survival mode.

Photo credit: Maria C Dawson|Stupefied via Visualhunt.com / CC BY-ND

What that means is I try to limit my time with that person. If it’s someone I work with, I’ll be cordial, but I don’t initiate conversations or go out of my way to speak with Sally. I know what you’re thinking, I’m being unkind. Well. Maybe I am. But here’s the deal.

We must also be kind to ourselves. We are just as important as any other person on the face of the earth. We do not have to tolerate bad behavior. I know this sounds very simple. You don’t like how someone is treating you, you stay away from them. It is simple, but very hard to do. Why? Because we get emotionally involved with the other person and that throws logic out the window. I know. I’ve seen it happen many times.

We have to remind ourselves in the midst of this emotional struggle to detach from this person. They are not good for us. It doesn’t mean we have to be unkind to them, but we don’t have to put up with their bad behavior either.

Photo credit: symphony of love via Visualhunt.com / CC BY-SA

 

So, when I speak about Kindness. I want everyone to know that each of you needs to be kind to yourself as well. You’re important and there’s a reason you’re here.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. If you’d like to read other Slice of Life Posts click here.

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Slice of LIfe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Kindness: A Slice of Life Post

  1. sharonledwith says:

    Yes. Practice detachment. Limit your time with ‘toxic’ people or cut them out of your life all together. After all, who wants to hang around an overflowing sewer or leaky septic tank? Wink. Great post, Lisa! Cheers!

  2. Bernadette says:

    Your post reminds me of teachings on forgiveness that says you must forgive but you do not have to keep going back to the source (person) of the hurt and embrace them.

  3. This reminds me of something I read written by the Dalai Lama. I can’t remember it exactly, but it was something about how if you stand on a mountain of gold it will rub off on you, but if you stand on a mountain of dirt that will also rub off on you so although we want to practice kindness sometimes it is necessary to step away. Being kind to oneself is important.

  4. Very well put. At a certain point, people must realize that the person isn’t just grumpy, but is actually being vocally aggressive. The same goes for relationships, personal and business. A well-written post!

  5. This is beautiful and a great reminder. Kindness is FREE, so I love to be as generous as possible. 🙂

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Awww…thanks so much and you are so right. Kindness is free and so much more valuable than anything money can buy. Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. 🙂

  6. wellingtonwt says:

    I agree with you. I only surround myself with positive poeple, and i detach myself from negativite poeple. And I still treat them with kindess and respect they deserved. Thank you for sharing.

  7. noellekelly says:

    I totally get this, but it’s hard when a negative influence is family….

Leave a Reply

