The Kindness of Strangers

 

Write. Share. Give.

 

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you. I’m back today with another Slice of Life Post. Today I’m reflecting on the kindness of strangers. Have you ever been in a situation where you needed help and had to rely on someone you didn’t know? It’s happened to me twice in the last six months.

It started out as a dead battery. I went to the grocery story, bought my groceries, wheeled them out to the car, and unloaded my cart. The sun beat down as I climbed behind the wheel and turned the key. Nothing. I couldn’t believe it.

Photo credit: Gerry Balding via Visual hunt / CC BY-NC-ND

I quickly called my husband and made arrangements for him to pick me up. While I waited (sweating in the hot sun), a nice woman offered to jump my car. We worked together and got my car started.  I thanked her, she left, and my car ran for about three seconds and then died again. My husband arrived after I baked for a little bit longer and brought me and the groceries home.

The reason I’m telling you this story is because I’m so grateful for the kindness of strangers. I appreciate all the people who’ve helped me out when I’ve been in a tight spot.

Photo credit: Ed Yourdon via Visual hunt / CC BY-NC-SA

I know we watch the news and we hear about bombings, mass shootings, and hate crimes, and each event is a horrible thing. But, there is good in the world, too. The goodness doesn’t get the attention it deserves. It isn’t as newsworthy as a hate crime or a mass shooting.

Photo credit: fishin widow via Visualhunt / CC BY-NC-SA

But as I stood there in the parking lot, (because it was way too hot to sit in the car) letting people know I was having car trouble, and I wasn’t standing there waiting to steal their groceries. The majority of the people I came into contact with were very kind, especially the woman who jumped my car. She took time out on a steamy day and helped me, someone she didn’t know. This is a small event, but I wonder if all these small events were added together if it could somehow have a positive effect on the universe and cancel out all the negative ones.

Photo via Visual Hunt

I’m grateful for that woman who was kind to me, and as I write this post, I realize I’m grateful for the kind man who changed my tire for me three months ago. I offered him money, but he declined it. He just said, help someone else when you can. Pay it forward.

I think we need more people to pay it forward, don’t you? Thanks for reading my post today. Do you have a story to share about the kindness of strangers? If you do, leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

If you’d like to read other Slice of Life Posts, click here.

 

 

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Slice of LIfe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The Kindness of Strangers

  1. cvarsalona says:

    Paying it forward is so important, Lisa. Thanks for sharing your story that has deep meaning for all of us.

  2. Lori Sheroan says:

    Thanks for shining a light on this moment of kindness! My car battery died at a soccer game last spring. A nice dad from the other team jumped it for me. I was so appreciative!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Lori. I think we need to remember these small acts of kindness so we don’t get so despondent over the way the world is changing. There is still goodness out there. 🙂

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I think these things happen often, Lisa, but we don’t hear of them, you’re right. I had a flat tire a year or so ago & had a granddaughter with me. Triple A was fast, but as I waited, people from the houses near me came out to ask if I was okay, needed water or anything. They could have stayed inside, but didn’t. I felt that care from strangers very much.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I think that’s awesome, Linda. I’m glad they stepped out of their home to ask. I’m so glad you and your granddaughter were looked after. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. Bernadette says:

    My son has lived in a nursing home for 14 years. During that time so many strangers have come into our lives and offered their friendship, gifts and just their time to sit and talk to him. I completely trust and believe that most people start from kindness.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I do, too, Bernadette. It’s such a great feeling when a complete stranger is kind to your loved one, isn’t it? Kind of puts your faith back into humanity, doesn’t it? Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with all of us.

  5. arjeha says:

    There is so much good in the world. Pity that doesn’t get reported as much as the bad that happens. I wonder what would happen if newscasts and papers reported more feel good stories than disaster. Would things change even a little bit?

  6. jhaworthoy says:

    I LOVED reading this. I have had so many people help me and I do my best to do the same. One time, at an airport with my friend who was in a wheelchair….she was very weak from chemo. I was trying to juggle her suitcase, mine and was wiped out from racing us to the gate as our connecting flight was so far. Anyway, this young man…high school age, stood up,offered me his seat, helped with the luggage…and just made my day. He could have sat there with his ear buds in….looking at his iPhone…..but he saw someone in need and offered help. I will never forget that .

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Oh, how awesome is that! I’m so glad he helped you! It just goes to show you that our world isn’t all about hate. Thanks for sharing your experience with all of us. I bet you’ll remember that young man’s face forever. 🙂

  7. Loralee says:

    It is truly heartwarming how people help people. Thank you for sharing! Telling others keeps it alive and inspires others!

  8. elsie says:

    I think good people out weigh the problem people, unfortunately, it’s the problems that get attention. Thanks for sharing the random acts of kindness in your life.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Elsie. I think you’re right. It’s always been that way, the squeaky wheel gets the grease, but maybe things are starting to change. I hope so.

  9. blkdrama says:

    Lisa, I am so with you. So much love and support came my way this year. You sent me buckets!!! I’m so grateful and I am even more conscious about doing the same… pay it forward for sure!

  10. Kindness can carry us so far forward, beyond the silly squabbles that will keep us apart and tear us down. Thank you for your kindness in sharing with us this story and helping us keep that idea of kindness in our own hearts! 🙂

  11. We, as human beings, shouldn’t just pay it forward. We should also just start the chain because we can. Great post! 🙂

  12. lbeth1950 says:

    Found you at senior salon.

  13. mariaholm says:

    Your post is an inspiration to write new posts on the many times in my life where I was suddenly stuck in similar situations and got the needed help from a stander or maybe an angel. Like stuck in an icy ditch on my way to Norway with four children wanting to go skiing and a truck comes by in the deserted landscape and pulls me up on the road again

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I’m so glad my post is an inspiration for you, Maria! That does sound scary being stuck in an icy ditch with four kids. Maybe these strangers are angels, looking out for us. You just never know, do you? Thanks for stopping by and sharing your story with us.

  14. I love this post, Lisa, and truly believe that all these little kindnesses matter, that they add up like a tidal wave of little drops with the power to change lives. Paying it forward is a wonderful way to get a wave of kindness rolling. 🙂

  15. What a revolution would occur if everyone did one act of random kindness every day and paid it forward. “Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible.” Dalai Lama

  16. Pingback: Helping Hands in Times of Need – Health from one Heart to another

  17. joanneeddy says:

    I read once that too many think the Golden Rule says “Do under others as they have DONE unto you,” and that they see life as an act of revenge. How different the world would really be if we really were proactive in treating people the way we would like to be treated. Random acts of kindness would not be random, but commonplace, in fact, kindness itself would be the normal state of things! And the only way I know to get to that kind of world is to start! Thanks for your thoughtful post, Lisa! Jo

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Joan! You’re spot on with your comment. I’ve always tried to do unto others as I I would like done to me. Though this can be difficult when you’re dealing with someone who’s being unkind to you. So, we have to remember that we have to be kind to ourselves, too. :)I love your idea and I’m going to become more conscious of extending random acts of kindness to people I meet. 🙂

  18. wellingtonwt says:

    This post made me realized that I have forgotten the kindness people have shown me. I literally spent several minutes thinking of those people who have helped me in any way. Thank you for this post.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      You’re welcome! I’m glad it had a positive effect on you. Sometimes we get so busy focusing on the negative that we forget about the positive things that happen in our lives. 🙂

  19. Love this post 🙂
    It costs nothing to be kind or helpful. I try and help people of trains, carry bags etc. Such is the world we live in that sometimes people are dubious to accept help, but still, we have to try.
    I try to smile at people too, simply because I never know how someone’s days is going and that smile from a stranger can make all the difference 🙂

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Oh! You are one of the good ones! Keep doing what your doing. I believe you’re having a positive impact on these people and they in turn are having a positive impact on others creating a ripple effect! 🙂 Thanks for all you do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

