Technology and Its Effects on our Lives

 

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you! I’m back today and I’m excited because I’ve finished my latest WIP. 🙂 Now the editing begins. My favorite part of writing. I love making my story stronger and better. I’ll share more details as I go through the process.

Today, I want to talk about technology. What an amazing thing it is. When I compare my childhood to that of my children, things are totally different, and I must say, I’m not that old! 😉

It’s incredible the changes that have occurred in the last thirty years (cough). Back in the day, we only had a landline phone, cell phones didn’t exist. Now, we’ve got phones that we can send texts, take pictures, and search the web with. It is truly amazing how far we’ve come.

And let’s not forget Social Media. Today, we can chat with someone from another country via the internet for the cost of an internet connection. I remember my days in college when we had to wait until after eleven pm to make long distance calls because the rates were lower, and I wasn’t even chatting with someone from another country. Those phone calls were expensive!

8540717756_396867dbab_m

Photo courtesy of Flicker Creative Commons and

https://mkhmarketing.wordpress.com/

It’s remarkable how far we’ve come and it makes me wonder how far we’ll go. What new technology awaits us over the horizon? What will social media evolve into and what effect will it have on our kids?

These are the questions I think about as I watch my children interact with their friends. I wonder how relationships will evolve. Will most of them be carried out over the internet? Will text messaging/instant messaging be the way our kids communicate with their friends and families? After all this type of communication is on the rise. Just take a look at these statistics. http://attentiv.com/we-dont-speak/

The reality is that our texting may be a detriment to face to face communication. According to this article, http://www.goodtherapy.org/blog/texting-teens-adults-communication-0726126

Text messaging/instant messaging is a form of instant gratification, cultivating impatience in our teens which could lead to aggression. When I think of this, I think of road rage and the fact that it’s on the rise. To me, road rage is a person’s frustration when they can’t get to their destination fast enough or they’re frustrated by another driver. Could the instant gratification of text messaging be a contributing factor to road rage? In my opinion yes.

This is one of the negatives of our technological advancement. Just like everything in life, moderation is the key. I believe we need to set limits on cell phone usage especially while driving. Did you know that texting while driving is now a worse public hazard than drunk driving? Check out this article, http://www.alertdriving.com/home/fleet-alert-magazine/north-america/Texting-while-driving-now-a-worse-public-hazard-than-drunk-drivers

Right now, the responsibility resides with the individuals to monitor their own cell phone usage while driving. I believe, we’ll soon have laws that prohibit the use of cell phones while on the road, but how do we police it? As a parent, I say absolutely no texting while driving for teens. They’ve just learned how to drive, they don’t need the distraction of trying to text at the same time.

Our technological advancements have created some problems for our society. In my opinion, moderation is key. We’ll have to monitor and set limits for social media interaction and text messaging for our kids. After all, we don’t want them to lose the ability to communicate face to face. They’d lose the art of reading body language and emotional intelligence will decrease. These are vital skills they’ll need as adults, wouldn’t you agree?

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post today, I appreciate it! Leave a comment, I’d love to read your thoughts! 🙂

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology and Its Effects on our Lives

  1. Great blog post! I whole-heartedly agree with you! I don’t have a phone, or social media beyond my blog, and I am completely happy! 😀

Leave a Reply

