My Thoughts on “Untwine”

 

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. I’m back today and I’m talking about a book that I finished reading a couple of weeks ago. It’s titled, “Untwine” by Edwidge Danticat. The cover and blurb are below.

“A haunting and mesmerizing story about sisterhood, family, love and loss by literary luminary Edwidge Danticat.

Giselle Boyer and her identical twin, Isabelle, are as close as sisters can be, even as their family seems to be unraveling. Then the Boyers have a tragic encounter that will shatter everyone’s world forever.

Giselle wakes up in the hospital, injured and unable to speak or move. Trapped in the prison of her own body, Giselle must revisit her past in order to understand how the people closest to her — her friends, her parents, and above all, Isabelle, her twin — have shaped and defined her. Will she allow her love for her family and friends to lead her to recovery? Or will she remain lost in a spiral of longing and regret?

Untwine is a spellbinding tale, lyrical and filled with love, mystery, humor, and heartbreak. Award-winning author Edwidge Danticat brings her extraordinary talent to this graceful and unflinching examination of the bonds of friendship, romance, family, the horrors of loss, and the strength we must discover in ourselves when all seems hopeless.”

 

My Thoughts:

I absolutely loved this story. “Untwine” is the story of a tragedy that pulls a family, that originally was falling apart, back together.  It was so well written and you could just feel the sadness of Giselle whenever she thought about her sister.

It’s the story about loss and love. How life goes on even when you don’t want it too. It explains the pain of surviving a tragic accident along with the pain of losing someone you love. No one can prepare another for this experience, but this story has an authenticity to it that many who’ve lost a family member will be able to identify with.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. What have you read recently that has made an impression on you? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Reading, reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

