A Slice of Life

 

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. I’m participating in “A Slice of Life” today. I’m excited and a little nervous because this is my first time. I hope you find what I want to share interesting.  It’s a story about my oldest son.

I had gone out to breakfast and then church with a couple of friends. We were talking about making the New York Times Bestsellers List and what it takes to make it. My friend told me the story about another author who made the list by taking out a loan and buying the required number of copies to do this.

Now, it’s been one of my goals to do make this list. I just think it’d be a great accomplishment and I’m working on improving my writing to get there, but what an easy way to do it. However, would I feel the same sense of accomplishment if I made the list the easy way as opposed to having my book make it all on its own?

photo courtesy of allthefreestock.com 

http://allthefreestock.com/

 

 

So, I was talking with my hubby and my son happened to be in the room listening as I explained the story my friend had told me. Just as I said, “I don’t think I’d feel a sense of accomplishment if I made it that way.”

My oldest wrinkled his nose and responded. “Mom, that’s cheating.”

“You’re right,” I said and he rose from the couch and went in the other room.

I was so proud of him. He knows the difference between accomplishing something on your own and buying it. I don’t know where or when he learned that lesson, but I’m so glad he did. I hope I had a part in teaching him that.

It’s funny, when you’re a parent, you think of yourself as the moral compass in your child’s life, you never think that they’re going to be your moral compass. 🙂 It just goes to show you, you never stop learning and we can learn from everyone can’t we?

 

photo courtesy of allthefreestock.com 

http://allthefreestock.com/

 

Thanks for stopping by and reading my “Slice of Life” post. I’d love it if you’d take a look at the other posts and if you want to leave a short snippet of your own slice of life in the comment section, feel free! I’d love to read it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Slice of LIfe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Slice of Life

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    I think I know where he learned it…:)

    Welcome to our community of writers! If you’d like to read the other Slice of Life stories, just click through the comments on Two Writing Teachers. We all share our links there and try to comment on at least 3 other Slices each week. Welcome aboard!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Dana! I appreciate it. I’ve stopped by three other blogs so far and I’m going to try to stop by a couple of others. I think this is going to be fun! 🙂

  2. mbhmaine says:

    Welcome, Lisa! I haven’t been slicing for too long, but it’s been incredibly rewarding for me and I’m sure it will be for you as well. Congratulations on your first slice and your new series as well. I look forward to reading more in the future!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m looking forward to slicing and chatting with fellow slicers. I’m looking forward to reading more from you as well! I’m going to stop by your blog right now! 🙂

  3. elsie says:

    Kids are always watching and learning. It’s nice when we can see our ideals reflected in their actions too. Welcome to slicing!

  4. mrsclark6 says:

    So happy you’ve joined us! I’m also happy to have stumbled upon you because I taught sixth grade for ten years (until I became a SAHM) and I love YAF! I’ll be following your blog so I can remember to look into your books. If you want to follow me, I’m at livefromtimeout.com.
    By the way, I love that your son showed you his inner workings. Sometimes it’s the best part of parenting when we can’t remember how our children got there, but that they turn out great. 🙂

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Mrs. Clark. I will definitely follow you. My son will be in sixth grade next year, the first year of middle school…and I’m a little nervous! But I’m sure he’ll do great. You’re right, seeing how my son thinks is one of the best things about parenting. I’m amazed at his generation.

  5. Maureen says:

    This is lovely! Really enjoyed your phrase, “you never think that they’re going to be your moral compass.” So true!

Leave a Reply

