Distracted Driving

 

Hello everyone! I’m in the editing cave today so I thought I’d repost a blog that I wrote a year or so ago. It’s on distracted driving and since this month is Distracted Driving Awareness month, I thought I’d share it again! Thanks for stopping by!

lisaorchard

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you!

Today I’m discussing the issue of distracted driving. It seems that this has become a major problem especially for the younger crowd. J You know who you are!  Read on and check out some pretty scary statistics.

Distracted drivers cause about 6,000 deaths and a half a million injuries every year. Now, for the teenager, that means texting or talking on a cell phone while driving.

Did you know that while young drivers are texting, they spend 10% of their time outside the driving lane that they’re supposed to be in? Pretty scary!

Did you know that talking on a cell phone while driving could make a younger driver’s reaction time as slow as that of a seventy-year-old?

Did you know that answering a text takes away your attention for about five seconds? That’s enough time to travel the length of…

View original post 153 more words

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Teen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Distracted Driving

  1. Shea Ford says:

    Thanks for sharing that Lisa! I’ve been driven off the road before because of a woman who was texting. She was oblivious that I was ever near her. Another time, I saw a distracted driver run a red light and come inches from smashing head-first into a school bus.

    In our area, there are some high school that have wrecked cars parked in the front to remind kids of the dangers of distracted driving. It’s also a good reminder to the rest of us to be extra aware. We might be good drivers, but we can’t control what other drivers might do.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Shea! You’re right on target with your comments! It’s scary that traffic accidents kill more people than any other mode of transportation, but they’re so commonplace that people are immune to this problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

