Review of “The Dallas Buyer’s Club”

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you! I’m back today and I’m discussing the movie, “The Dallas Buyer’s Club.” I didn’t know much about it, but when the two main actors in the movie won both Oscars for the best actor and best supporting actor, I had to see it.

Before I went to it, I did a little research and I found that the movie is based on a true story. This piqued my interest even more. Therefore, I was excited to see this movie and the performances of the actors that won the Oscars.

I absolutely loved it. “The Dallas Buyer’s Club” was a heartbreaking portrayal of what people with aids went through when the drug AZT was in the testing stage. It was an accurate portrayal of the frustration many aids victims felt with the slow process of the FDA’s approval of new drugs.

I love stories about renegades who defy bureaucrats and perform acts for the common good. They’re modern day Robin Hoods and something about these types of people trips my trigger.  Matthew Mcconaughey’s character, Ron Woodrow, is the hero of this story.

Jared Leto plays Rayon, a transgendered woman who’s also a drug addict. He does a wonderful job of portraying the unique challenges that transgendered people face. There was one touching scene where Rayon approaches his father and asks him for money to help the club he’s running with Ron Woodrow. The emotions in that scene are incredibly powerful. In that one scene, it sums up the plight of the transgendered people beautifully. When Rayon’s father tells him that he made his choice and Rayon calmly tells him that it was not a choice.

You see many people think that transgendered people choose their lifestyle and it’s not a choice it’s their special wiring in their brains.

Overall, this was an excellent movie and an eye opening experience. The actors definitely earned their Oscars with this one!

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review of “The Dallas Buyer’s Club”

  1. Nice review. I’m really happy both actors won Oscars for this movie too.
    McConaughey really embraces this anti-hero, he’s hilarious! For a movie about dying and AIDS there’s a lot of room for situation humor and his character’s approach to life is so… well, do or die.
    Hope you’ll have a chance to check out my review of the movie – http://www.tinseltine.com/2013/12/bull-rider-and-miss-man-dallas-buyers.html

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Tinsel and Tine. I’ll definitely stop by and check out your review. The character that really resonated with me was Rayon. That scene between Rayon and his father was extremely powerful.

  2. We had to rent it too, when we saw that it won so many Oscars. About half way through it, I looked at my husband and asked him if he thought it was based on a true story. He said he wasn’t sure, so I’m glad that you were able to tell me it was! We liked it too!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Fantabulosityjb! I’m glad I could clear up the fact that it was a true story for you. Those are the movies I totally love, the true ones. It doesn’t get much better than that. 🙂

  3. I just finished watching the Dallas Buyers Club and I agree with your review. Though when my husband asked if I liked it, I had to say that is not really a movie that you “like.” It is just too heartbreaking and tragic. The performances were amazing. Both men deserved the Oscars that they won.

    Visiting from the Sits Girls.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I agree with you Live from La Quinta! I couldn’t have said it better, the movie was too heartbreaking and tragic. The performances were amazing and I’m glad I went to see the movie. I really like the ones that are based on true stories. I especially like the anti-hero ones. The bad guy that’s actually good. 🙂 I hope this movie helps with the diversity issues that many gay and transgendered people face. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

