Tween Meme for the Emblazoners!

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you! Today is the fourth Wednesday of the month and that means it’s our Tween Meme day! Whoo hoo!

Today I’d like to talk about a book that I read recently. It’s a story by Sarah Dessen and it’s titled, “What happened to Goodbye.” I have to tell you, when I first picked it up, I wasn’t sure about it. I mean when I think of Sarah Dessen, I think of Girlie Girls. I’ve always been a bit of a Tomboy. 🙂 So, I was a little hesitant at first.

However, once I got into the story I was hooked. It’s a story about a family that’s torn apart by a bitter divorce. While the parents are fighting over custody, their teenage daughter is being pulled in all kinds of directions and she’s slowly unraveling. But her parents aren’t paying attention because they’re dealing with their own issues.

It was an interesting read and I absolutely LOVED how McLean’s relationship with Dave developed. It was incredibly sweet and nostalgic. The story tugged at my heart strings and I’m sure it will tug at yours as well.

It is an excellent story to recommend to tweens who are trying to figure out who they are, or have parents who are going through a divorce. It’s told from McLean’s perspective and she gives us insight on how a tween/teen might view that type of situation.

This story also shows how a relationship should develop between a boy and a girl. The two become friends and then the relationship slowly evolves into something more.  It’s a great story to illustrate how a relationship should start. I would highly recommend this story to tweens. The cover and blurb are below.

Since her parents’ bitter divorce, Mclean and her dad, a restaurant consultant, have been on the move – four towns in two years. Estranged from her mother and her mother’s new family, Mclean has followed her dad in leaving the unhappy past behind. And each new place gives her a chance to try out a new persona: from cheerleader to drama diva. But now, for the first time, Mclean discovers a desire to stay in one place and just be herself – whoever that is. Perhaps her neighbor Dave, an academic superstar trying to be just a regular guy, can help her find out. Combining Sarah Dessen’s trademark graceful writing, great characters, and compelling storytelling, What Happened to Goodbye is irresistible reading.

Thanks for stopping by today. Do you have a book you’d like to recommend? Leave the title in the comments, I’d love to read what it is!

And check out the Emblazoner  Tween the Weekend Page!  See what the other Emblazoner authors are up to! The link is below:

 http://emblazoners.com/tween-the-weekends/

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Teen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tween Meme for the Emblazoners!

  1. sharonledwith says:

    Great review, Lisa! Sounds like a winner for a tween (or parent) to read! Cheers!

  2. Here’s the link for the meme page: http://emblazoners.com/tween-the-weekends/

    This sounds like a fabulous read, lisa! Tough subject, but lots of room for a heroine to grow and develop. And I love the cover. My latest read has been the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull. I’m whipping through them despite a garden full of produce to can and freeze.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Michelle! It was a great read. I was surprised that I liked it as much as I did and it handled the subject beautifully. I haven’t read the Fablehaven series yet. I’ll have to check them out. 🙂 I hope your canning and freezing goes well. 🙂

  3. I’ve seen Sarah Dressen’s name a lot but never picked up one of her books yet. I’ve got it on my t0-do list now.

  4. Cordelia Dinsmore says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, Lisa. Sounds like something I might enjoy. I’ve read a couple of the Fablehaven books, and liked them, too. So many books, so few hours of reading time.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      You’re welcome Cordelia! I hear you about the time! Between kids, writing, and promoting there’s very little time to read. I’m amazed that I was able to get so much reading done this summer. I have to blame it on a rainy vacation in July! 🙂

  5. Alan Tucker says:

    Great review, I will have to keep this one in mind for the future! Thanks, Lisa 🙂

  6. Suzanne says:

    I appreciate the full review as I’m also something of a tomboy, but do enjoy the occasional wander through the pink side of life. This sounds like such a rich book–I’m excited to check it out!

  7. Lisa,
    Thanks for sharing. I’d definitely be interested in reading this one as I have a similar story in the making.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by J.L. Campbell. I suggest checking this one out then, it focuses on the teen’s perspective, which adults sometimes lose sight of when they’re dealing with these issues. 🙂 I’d love to hear what you think of it.

  8. Lynn Kelley says:

    I would think so many tweens could relate to this story since the divorce rate is so high. A difficult subject, for sure, but it sounds like Sarah Dessen has balanced it out with sweet moments. Thank you for recommending this book, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

