Best of Summer 2013 Kid Lit Giveaway Hop!

The winners are!

Krizia Almiranez

and

Kari!

Congratulations!

Thank you for participating in our blog hop!

Best of Summer 2013 Kid Lit Giveaway Hop - Button

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you! I’m participating in the Kid Lit Blog Hop where you can win some amazing books for the kids in your life. There are all kinds of books available, so make sure you check out all the awesome giveaways on this hop! I’ve listed some other participants below. Be sure and check out their blogs!

One of the things that our hosts wanted us to do is to feature one of our favorite children’s books. Well, one of my absolute favorites is “To Kill a Mocking bird.” This is an awesome story and many teachers still use it in their classrooms today.

To Kill a Mockingbird

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

I loved this story. It captured the turbulent era beautifully and it’s told from a child’s point of view. I would recommend this book to tweens and teens alike. It illustrates a great lesson regarding discrimination. A lesson everyone needs to learn.

Reading fiction is a great way to learn life lessons, and it’s an important skill that needs to be developed from a young age. It improves self esteem, analytical skills, and social skills. So as a parent encouraging reading is one of the best things I can do for my children.   Here are a couple of posts on improving literacy that I wrote a few months ago.

https://lisaorchard.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/improving-our-libraries-will-improve-our-literacy-levels/

https://lisaorchard.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/could-e-books-be-the-solution-to-our-growing-literacy-problems/

Now for the giveaway! I will giveaway 2 e-book copies of my first Super Spies novel, “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer!” The Super Spies series is for the ages between 10-16. To enter all you have to do is leave a comment with the title of your favorite childhood book! Winners will be chosen on September 6th! The cover and blurb are below!

The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer 500x750This book opens in a small town in Michigan where fifteen-year-old Sarah Cole is stuck spending the summer at her Aunt and Uncle’s with her sister, Lacey. She’s not happy with the situation until she befriends a girl named Jackie. The three girls stumble upon the ruthless murder of a reclusive neighborhood woman. One of the officers investigating the crime believes the girls are responsible for her death. Fearing that this officer will frame them for the murder, the girls organize their own detective squad. They become the Super Spies and start their own fact-finding mission.  The Super Spies can’t understand why anyone would want to murder the “Cat Lady” until they start digging into her past and discover a horrible crime that happened thirty years ago. They uncover a connection between the two crimes and attempt to bring this information to the police, only to be reprimanded for meddling in the inquest. Not only are the girls upset by the admonition, but they also struggle with the fact that their exuberant investigating could provide a legal loophole allowing the killer to go free. To make matters worse, the police don’t even believe them. Frustrated by this turn of events, the Super Spies realize it’s up to them to snare the Cat Lady killer, or die trying…

Please visit our hosts for this venture, their links are below:

http://motherdaughterbookreviews.com/kid-lit-blog-hop-22/

http://youthlitreviews.com/

To check out the other blogs (there are over seventy!) click the link below:

http://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=202201&type=basic&AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to leave a comment for your chance to win an ebook copy of “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer!”

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Children's Event and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Best of Summer 2013 Kid Lit Giveaway Hop!

  1. Joy Findlay says:

    The Secret Zoo is a current fav. I love reading with my 5 year old son at the mo.

  2. Still a favorite in our household…a Golden Book called The Pokey Little Puppy.

  3. LovableLobo says:

    Oh my! There are just way too many good ones to pick just one or two or three or four!

  4. Sarah says:

    Fantastic Mr. Fox I think…..but there were so many and now I am incredibly fortunate to get to review them all as my two children are book lovers too!

  5. When I was a child, I loved Where the Red Fern Grows. I couldn’t stand the ending, though. It was so horribly sad. The other books I read other and over (at least twice per year for the whole set) was the Chronicles of Narnia. I began reading those when I was 6 or 7 and read them each winter and summer break for years and years. Thanks of the giveaway. michelle_willms@yahoo.com

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Michelle! I absolutely LOVED “Where the Red Fern Grows.” I didn’t like the ending either, it made me cry. I also loved the Chronicles of Narnia series. I’m hoping my boys will become interested in those books when they’re a little older. They’re just so well written! I’ve entered you into the giveaway as well! Good luck!

  6. Jemima Pett says:

    One of the best books I’ve read this summer is the Seed Savers: Treasure, by S Smith. Thanks for your giveaway – the Super Spies sound right up my street!

  7. Kari says:

    My favorite childhood book was a collection of Grimm’s Fairy Tales. I read them over and over when I was young.

  8. I agree with you about the beauty of To Kill a Mockingbird. As a girl, I adored Alice in Wonderland. Thanks for bringing back wonderful memories of my childhood!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Christy! I’m glad that I brought back some wonderful memories for you! Reading does the same for me too. I’ve got you entered into the giveaway, best of luck to you! 🙂

  9. I loved To Kill A Mockinbird. It has such a great story. I liked reading Nancy Drew, The Hobbit and The Chronicles of Narnia when I was a child. My son loves a variety of books.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Ashleigh. I loved the Nancy Drew series, The Hobbit, and the Chronicles of Narnia too! Awesome stories. I’ve got you entered into the giveaway! Good luck!

  10. Krizia Almiranez says:

    No doubt, Grimm’s Fairy Tales 😀 but for the modern one, it’s Shug by Jenny Han 🙂

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Krizia! I loved Grimm’s Fairy tales when I was younger. I haven’t read “Shug,” yet. But it’s on my TBR list now. I’ve got you entered into the giveaway! Good Luck! 🙂

  11. Leslie Nakagawa says:

    When I was younger, I loved reading Beverly Cleary books. Now, I loved reading all the Harry Potter books.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Leslie! I loved “Ramona the Pest” and all the other Ramona books too. I haven’t made it through all the Harry Potter books, yet. But I’m working on it! I’ve got you entered into the giveaway! Best of luck to you! 🙂

  12. Yesenia says:

    When I was growing up my favorite book was Heidi.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Hello Yesenia, I loved Heidi too! I’m walking down memory lane as I look at these comments. A lot of the books listed are ones that I have read too! I’ve entered you into the giveaway! Best of luck to you! 🙂

  13. I was a big fan of Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume– and I love the Harry Potter books. (Heidi and Louisa May Alcott’s books as well.) 😉 This is a fun blog hop. It’s nice to get to know so many fans of MG books.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Monique! Wow! we read the same books growing up! It’s so nice to see that there are a lot of authors with similar tastes! I’ve entered you into the giveaway! Best of luck to you! 🙂

  14. Khristin Zakem says:

    Hard to pick a favorite, but maybe Howls Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Ohh…that sounds like a good one! I haven’t read that one, but I’ll definitely put it on my TBR Pile! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Khristin. I’ve entered you into the giveaway! Good luck! 🙂

  15. heta s says:

    I would love to win a copy for my daughter who loves to read.

  16. Daniel M says:

    horton hears a who!

  17. Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews says:

    Believe it or not, I have never read To Kill a Mockingbird. Even though it is such a classic, I think because we are in Canada, we just focused on Canadian authors and I never picked it up as an adult. Strange, huh? Thanks for joining us in the Hop. Good luck everyone! 🙂

  18. I loved To Kill a Mockingbird. Read it in grade 10, watched the original movie as well. Really really awesome. Hope my son has to read it. He started grade 10 this week.
    andrea_hockeygirl at hotmail dot com

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I loved it too! I still do. I also loved the movie and I wish Harper Lee had written more books! Thanks for stopping by Andrea, I’ve got you entered into the giveaway! Best of luck to you! 🙂

  19. J.Q. Rose says:

    Hi Lisa, I wonder if anybody remembers Uncle Wiggly’s Tales. My mom read that to me when I was a kid. I kept the book and read all the old tales to my third graders and they loved them too! I’m with you on To Kill a Mocking bird. One of my favorites!

  20. Natalie says:

    My favourite book as a child was Island of the Blue Dolphins

Leave a Reply

