Posted in Holiday Posts

Our Torch Lake Vacation

IMG_0314

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you! I’m back today and I thought that I’d share with you some vacation tidbits. My family and I have just returned from our vacation at Torch Lake. We stayed in my in-laws cottage and I must say I love being by the water. Listening to the waves hit the beach is so calming and it just seems to clear my head.

It was at the cottage where I made a major change to my work in process, my coming of age novel. I was able to get 10,000 words done on the new draft. I know that doesn’t seem like much but remember I was on vacation so I wasn’t supposed to be writing. I was supposed to be taking a break. But do we writers ever take a break?

The reason I was able to write at all is because the weather has been less than ideal. We’ve had a lot of rain and wind, so hanging down by the beach hasn’t been high on anyone’s list. That’s okay though, we’ve still had fun!

Because the weather hasn’t been the greatest my boys have had to resort to playing some games inside. Lately, they’ve been on the hunt for zombies. It’s great to see them use their imagination. I listen to them when they don’t realize it and I always get a chuckle from their conversations. They’re just so cute and innocent. I love watching my boys enjoy themselves. They’re pretty good buds to begin with, but for some reason when we’re on vacation they just seem to click even more.

We took them miniature golfing. I thought this might be frustrating, especially for my youngest. He’s the sweetest little boy but he’s also very driven. He wants to master everything he tries right away and he gets frustrated when he can’t.  He won’t give up until he gets it right, even if he’s crying with frustration. I try and tell him that he’s got plenty of time. But he doesn’t listen to me. I’m just Mom, you know. 🙂 But this didn’t happen. Everyone was able to enjoy themselves and it was a great family day.

We love the Traverse City area, there just seems to be a lot of history here in the small towns along the coast of Lake Michigan. It’s interesting to see the old buildings along the shoreline and learn the history of them and their occupants. It’s only been in the last few years that I’ve become interested in history. Isn’t that weird? I could have used that interest when I was in school.

I also feel that being on vacation improves my creativity. Being in a new place and having some new experiences is good for my brain. I also was able to do some research for my fourth Super Spies novel. I want to thank the Elk Rapids Historical Society for their help. They gave me some interesting tidbits that depending on how I use them may actually be the premise for my next story.

Next year we’re planning on taking a trip to Chicago and going to Shedd’s Aquarium. I can’t wait to do this. My boys love going to the zoo and feeding the sting rays. They also love watching the Universe channel especially when they’re doing a documentary on the ocean. They love learning about squids, sharks, and dolphins. And I must say that I enjoy it too. Mainly because I’m learning something new and I’m seeing the world through the eyes of my kids. It brings back that old desire to obtain knowledge.

In closing, I’d like to say I love all things about vacations, from the anticipation in the planning as well as the actual execution of that plan. We’re creating memories for our kids and I’m hoping they’re awesome ones. I know they are for me. 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to read my post today. It was one of those ramblings ones that I do once in a while.  I appreciate you taking the time to check it out, and if you’d like to leave a comment and share some of your vacation memories, please do. I’d love to read them. 🙂

Below are some candid shots from our vacation! 🙂


IMG_0345
IMG_0315

Author:

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.

4 thoughts on “Our Torch Lake Vacation

  1. Love the pics, Lisa! We went to the Missouri and Arkansas Ozarks area for our vacation a couple weeks ago and had so much fun. Teaching our 4 yo granddaughter how to cast a fishing line was delightful. She practiced in the swimming pool, and I think she’s better than I am, now. And I’ve been fishing since I was her age. Glad you had an enjoyable time. 10,000 words is very impressive!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Cordelia! I’m glad to hear your granddaughter is an expert fisherman! 🙂 I loved fishing when I was young and my boys enjoy casting on the dock.They don’t quite have the patience to wait for a fish yet…but that will come when they’re older. 🙂

  2. 10,000 words? On vacation? I had my granddaughter and grandson for over a week and I was lucky to get on the social media. I’m somehow jealous and in awe of you! Glad you had a blast!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.