My thoughts on the Life of PI Movie

 

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! A couple of weeks ago, I went and saw the movie “Life of PI” with my mom. I enjoyed it and the special effects were very dramatic.  It’s about a young boy who ends up in a life boat on the ocean with a tiger.

I must say their journey was amazing, but the whole time I was wondering what the point of the story was. I didn’t find out until the end. When I did find out what the movie was trying to say, I was surprised by its simplicity.

It was a movie about God. I wasn’t expecting it, because it began as the simple story of a young boy and his incredible journey. The viewer doesn’t realize until the end that it’s about God, at least I didn’t.

God was mentioned throughout the movie and I knew there were inklings of religious overtones weaved throughout it. But at the end the message was so clear and so simple, I felt at peace. There’s no other way to put it.

What I personally gleaned from the movie is that there are many different religions that have their own view of God and his teachings.  These different views have a similar thread weaved throughout their stories. And the movie explained these differences in such a way that it makes sense.

When a certain group of people are uncomfortable with a story, or find it unbelievable the storyteller changes it to make his listeners more comfortable. The movie suggests that’s what has happened with all the different religious views that we have. Maybe it’s as simple as the storyteller changing the story to make his listeners more comfortable. Doesn’t this make sense to you? It certainly did to me.

Although the movie doesn’t go into the issue of tolerance of others beliefs, I feel that’s what it’s trying to say.

In my opinion, all of the people in Iraq should watch this movie. It might change their perspective enough to end the war. What do you think? I know it sounds like an overly simplified solution, but sometimes the solution is so simple we can miss it all together.

And while we’re at it, let’s not stop at religion. We could apply this same theory of tolerance in other areas of our lives. For example, in our schools, we could teach our children tolerance of differences; differences in personality, differences in looks, and differences in opinions.

Wouldn’t it be great if we could teach our kids to be secure with their individuality so they won’t feel threatened by someone else’s? That would help with the bullying issues we have in schools right now. Don’t you agree?

Thanks for stopping by and I’d love to hear your thoughts on this! Leave a comment and share your ideas!

 

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My thoughts on the Life of PI Movie

  1. sharonledwith says:

    Nice review, Lisa. We’ve got the movie on our hard drive, and I’m looking forward to watching it. I’ve read the book about 6 years ago, and remember the story well. The end was indeed a surprise. People sure want things tied up in a neat little package, especially when it’s hard to believe the truth. Great post!

  2. Linda Benson says:

    Watching the movie tonight, Lisa. I read the book years ago and had the same sort of feelings. Kudos to you for spelling it out in a simple message. Yep, makes sense to me!

  3. ewgreenlee says:

    I have yet to read the book, it is on my list, but I enjoyed the movie immensely. I think people will come away with numerous interpretations. The author stated he was looking for a story that would direct his life at a time when he was very lonely. Pi used the wisdom of three religions to form his own understanding of God, because he just loved God so much. His journey seemed to me to be about his one-to-one relationship and test of faith. I was moved when Pi thanked God for his life and was ready to die. Then God gave him the sustenance of life.

    It is sad in this day and age where stories of God are not given much respect, because too often people connect religious institutions with faith, which I believe are two separate realms of belief.

    Nice post.

  4. Very nice. thank you. I enjoyed the technical aspect. The director to achieve unparalleled #D effects used different aspect ratios from 4]3 to 16]10 16]9 etc. the movie transitions to these different aspect ratios was a bit abrupt but most never realized what the cinematographer & director were really doing

  5. I noticed the religious references in the film as well and I thought they did an excellent job of discussing the content without being too intrusive. We need more films that discuss religion and other meaningful topics. And I’m with you on the tolerance in beliefs because it seems some people have forgotten what being a child of God is all about.

  6. Obama’s stand on the issues of life and how it is getting shushed up are not in line with standard Catholic beliefs.

  7. I am back to comment, now that I have watched the movie. I did enjoy it, on both the surface level of its beautiful scenes and for the surprise ending. I also did not know when I started to watch it that there would be a link with God. I really felt a range of emotions as I watched it; at some points I smiled and at other scenes I had tears. Good review here!

  8. Schmobb says:

    do you have any idea what it could mean that the “the animals are actually people”-version actually seems to be what you presented here as the more comfy version. the author person (which strikes me lots as a lemur) read it for himself while Pi let his family in. the tiger version sounded like the true version after all so its at least a double head fake by Pi, but Im pretty confused about this now.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I haven’t read the book so I can’t interpret it. Sorry. 🙂

      • Schmobb says:

        Neither have I. the report was explicitly talking about the tiger. (at the very end, when the writer read it himself, only a few seconds) It sounded a bit like the movie wanted the biggest part of the audience to fly over this by putting it where Pi had just beecome an untouchable role model, heartwarming hero, with unbreakable spirit, wisdom, etc – so it would slip everybody who is enjoying the moment. Maybe I only felt it intuitively at first because of that. the writer read text about a tiger, which after Pi, never did find it into the report as far as I got it. I think thats topsy turvy. Im starting to wonder whether Pi tricked the lemur away from the island (which I think is escapism) by using the writer`s affinity for romance. its all completely theoretical but, right now, if all thats true, I wonder if the movie tricked the viewer ON the island in fact. the writer grin-snorted appreciatively, thats what people do when they appreciate having been tricked, I believe. theres something to it I think.

        well. okay. appearantly I not only more or less answered my own question but started a fundamental debate of the merit of religion, I guess Ill take my leave xD but be welcome to comment, Im now pretty interested in this.

        To really just to finnish the thought, thats exactly what Alice in wonderland by Disney (pt I, back then) ended up as for me: curiously, the whole movie is a white rabbit. what I dont get is whether “Life of Pi” is a tiger now, or.. or the island.. or the boat or sunburns or a lotus flower or listening closely *twitch* I have no idea anymore. might take a while xD

        thanks for your blog (?) here in any case, I immediately googled this after I had this “huh?” moment, it helped lots to get this exciting notion!

      • Lisa Orchard says:

        Wow! That’s quite a deep analysis! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

