The Benefits of Exercise

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! Today I’m going to discuss a subject that’s near and dear to my heart and that is improving my health. I’ve made a plan that I’m going to eat better and exercise more this year.

I started my plan this week. Today, I ran three miles (on the treadmill…yuck) and when I was done I felt great. I had a hard time tearing myself away from my manuscript though. For me, starting the run is the hardest part. 🙂

My goal is to get back into shape. I’ve been a runner for years, but because of the holidays and sick kids I’ve been lax and haven’t been running as often as I should. So I made a New Year’s resolution to get back into the habit of running and working out regularly. I also do strength training exercises. Those aren’t too bad because they don’t take a big chunk out of my day.

What I find after my run is that I’m much more relaxed and creative. I have a more positive attitude. I also find that if I have a problem with one of my manuscripts and I step away from the computer, and either go for a run or a hike in the woods I usually work the problem out. Physical activity stimulates my brain in a positive way.

I’ve found there is scientific proof that this is true. My body releases endorphins when I exercise which improves my mood and lowers my stress level. For more information on this click here http://www.informationgateway.org/positive-effects-exercise-mood/

I run but I also love to walk. That’s right, walking has the same effect on your body that running does. Did you know that you burn the same number of calories whether you walk a mile or run a mile? The pace does not matter.

I feel that this is an important piece of information. Especially for people who can’t run because of an injury or they just don’t like to run period.

In my opinion, the only difference between running and walking is that walking doesn’t work out the heart like running does. So, if you have a family history of heart disease, like mine does, then it’s in your best interest to do some form of exercise that works out your cardiovascular system. If you don’t like running try riding a bike or a spinning class. Both work out the cardiovascular system without all the stress on your joints.

There are also other benefits from exercising. It reduces stress and also combats depression. So if you’re feeling low go for a run, ride a bike, or just go for a walk. Get moving and get your blood circulating and get the endorphins running through your brain. You’ll feel better. I know I do. 🙂

I know it’s hard to find time to exercise. This is my biggest challenge. There’s so much that I want to accomplish during the day that taking a half hour to exercise and then clean up seems like a huge sacrifice. But I’m actually more productive when I do take the time to do it and we all know the health benefits of it.

I also know that as I continue to run I’m going to have to increase my distance which will take more time from the other things that I want to accomplish. Maybe by increasing my distance it will also increase that positive energy that I always have after a good run. I’ll have to find something to do with all of that positive energy.

Hopefully, I’ll write some more bestsellers! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by today and I hope I’ve inspired you to get moving and improve your health. 🙂

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
Aside | This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Benefits of Exercise

  1. sharonledwith says:

    Totally agree! I’ve read Stephen King goes for a walk to get out of his writer’s head, and comes back to his desk feeling refreshed and renewed. Sounds like great minds think alike! Kudos on a stimulating post, Lisa!

  2. Sara Stinson says:

    Okay! I had made my goal two years ago. Like Lisa, I sickness and work took over my days. I agree with you and you have renewed my goal. I hear 10,000 steps a day is a start! Here we go!

  3. Pingback: 10 reasons you should start a running routine « Chasing Butterflies

  4. Kari says:

    I really wish I liked to run but I just don’t – it feels like torture, LOL! I know I need to start exercising more, I have been really bad this winter. My 75 yr. old mom just started a monitored exercise program as part of a pulmonary rehab program. It has been wonderful for her and I can definitely see changes – her blood pressure is lower, her mood and energy levels are greatly improved.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks for stopping by Kari! Yes, it’s such a great feeling when you’re done exercising, though I do have days when it’s really hard to start. 🙂 If you don’t like running, you can always walk. You get the same benefits except for the cardiovascular workout. For that you could always try biking or spinning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

