How I became an Amazon Best selling Author in one day…and you can too!

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! I have some awesome news to share with all of you! I have made it to the Amazon’s best sellers list! Whoo! Hoo! I made it to the number two spot in the mystery and detectives category and I ranked in the top ten and top twenty in a couple of other categories as well.

I couldn’t believe it! I checked my sales ranking quite a few times throughout the day just to make sure it was accurate. And you know what? It was!

I bet you’re wondering how I did it, aren’t you? I mean how does someone go from a sales rank of around two hundred and fifty thousand to number two in one day?

Well I’m here to tell you how I did it. After spending a lot of time looking for reviewers, sending letters requesting reviews, and writing guest posts, I realized how little time I had for writing my books. Feeling a little burned out and frustrated, I happened upon a friend’s book and noticed that her sales rank was much lower than it had been the previous day.

I couldn’t figure out the reason for the change because I knew she hadn’t been doing any promotion for that book.  After chatting with her, I decided to use the same method she had used.

Here was the formula that worked for her and me. 🙂 My book is currently number eight in the category of mysteries and detectives.  It’s dropped some…but I’m still in the top ten. 🙂

First of all, I dropped the price on my book to $.99. This probably isn’t news to a lot of you. It’s a technique many authors and publishers use to get people to take a chance on your book. However, I went a step further and listed it on http://ereadernewstoday.com/ .

It was like magic. The book was listed and started selling within an hour. I first noticed that it went to sixty six. And it didn’t stop going down! I kept checking back and I couldn’t believe it I was at number two by the end of the night and I stayed at number two until the end of the next day. This was an astounding response. When I first inquired about this program, I was told that young adult novels don’t do as well. So, as you can imagine I was pleasantly surprised. Of course, this service isn’t free. I have to pay them a percentage of my take from Amazon. So, it isn’t really a money maker, but, if you want to increase your exposure quickly and increase your readership…this is a good way to do it. I also want to add that these results are not guaranteed. I’ve seen other books that didn’t do as well…so use your best judgement. 🙂

There are some other sites that are available, but I haven’t had the opportunity to check them out yet. If you get a chance to check them out, drop me a note and let me know how happy you are with your results.  The links are below.

One Hundred Free books

http://onehundredfreebooks.com/contact.html

Ask David

http://askdavid.com/free-book-promotion

Storyfinds

http://storyfinds.com/

And if you feel so inclined…my book is still only $.99 and I’d really love to see if I could get to that number one spot. 🙂

Here’s the cover and blurb…and the buy link! 🙂

The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer 500x750

This book opens in a small town in Michigan where fifteen-year-old Sarah Cole is stuck spending the summer at her Aunt and Uncle’s with her sister, Lacey. She’s not happy with the situation until she befriends a girl named Jackie. The three girls stumble upon the ruthless murder of a reclusive neighborhood woman. One of the officers investigating the crime believes the girls are responsible for her death. Fearing that this officer will frame them for the murder, the girls organize their own detective squad. They become the Super Spies and start their own fact-finding mission.  The Super Spies can’t understand why anyone would want to murder the “Cat Lady” until they start digging into her past and discover a horrible crime that happened thirty years ago. They uncover a connection between the two crimes and attempt to bring this information to the police, only to be reprimanded for meddling in the inquest. Not only are the girls upset by the admonition, but they also struggle with the fact that their exuberant investigating could provide a legal loophole allowing the killer to go free. To make matters worse, the police don’t even believe them. Frustrated by this turn of events, the Super Spies realize it’s up to them to snare the Cat Lady killer, or die trying…

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JZH61K

Thanks so much for stopping by! And if you have any success stories that you’d like to share, please do so! I’m always interested in ways to market my books. 🙂

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in promotion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How I became an Amazon Best selling Author in one day…and you can too!

  1. Lindsay says:

    Doesn’t it feel great to be a best selling author?

  2. That is s great! Congrats. Savor this for a while:) Thanks for sharing. I’m going to give it a try.

  3. great article and thanks for the tips and links!! Good luck ad keep us-upon the progress

  4. sharonledwith says:

    Congrats on hitting the big leagues, Lisa! You’ve worked hard for this! Cheers!

  5. Awsome info and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is in fact the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to get some professional writers? Thank you 🙂

  6. Pingback: How I became an Amazon Best selling Author in one day…and you can too! | Books Direct | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

