The Last Question for Megan’s Children’s Book Event

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hello Everyone! I hope everything is going well with you! Today is the last question for Megan’s Children’s Book Event and the last question is…..

Why do you think Children should be encouraged to read? And what is the importance of reading for Young Children?

Okay, here is the answer to why do you think Children should be encouraged to read?

I love this question because it allows me to get up on my soap box and preach about the importance of reading. J First of all, reading with your child is a great bonding experience between parent and child. I read to both my boys before bed and it was such a wonderful experience to have their tiny bodies snuggle up to me and listen to me read. They both are wonderful cuddlers now and I believe it’s because we used to snuggle when we read.  Now, they read to me and it’s great to see their confidence grow in their reading ability.

Studies have shown that reading improves social and analytical skills, and builds self-esteem.  Let’s think about this for a second, the ten to twenty minutes that you spend with your child reading each night could be the answer to some of those emotional issues that all kids experience in their teen years. Now, I don’t have any statistics on that and I’m probably oversimplifying the situation, but I really feel that the conclusion I’m drawing has a grain of truth to it. So, when you’re reading with your kids and you’re reading the same story over, and over, and over again. Just think of it as a way of saving money on future therapy bills.  🙂

Just take a look at what the New York Times has to say about reading fiction in this article “Your brain on Fiction” http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/18/opinion/sunday/the-neuroscience-of-your-brain-on-fiction.html?_r=1&pagewanted=all

Now, the second question…what is the importance of reading for Young Children?

Well…I feel I’ve answered this in the above question, but I’ll say it again. Reading builds social and analytical skills and improves self –esteem. But there are other benefits as well. Avid readers tend to do better in school and reading also reduces stress.

So there you have it, the last question for Megan’s Children’s Book Event. And if you haven’t entered any of her giveaways stop on by her blog and enter…you could win!  http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.com/

Thanks for stopping by and leave a comment and tell me how you feel about reading. 🙂

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Children's Event and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

