Another Question for Megan’s Children’s Book Event

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! I’m here today to answer the second question for the Children’s Book Event that is being hosted by Megan at http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.com/.

So, here’s the question:  What was your favorite book as a child and why?

This is a tough question because I don’t remember the title, only the series. I’m sure some of the more mature (wink) authors out there remember the Boxcar Children series?

I loved those books. I would go to the library and check them out and then race home so I could start reading them right away.

Looking back, I realize the reason I liked them so much was because they were stories about four siblings. I could relate to that because I was the oldest of four siblings. Two brothers and a sister just like the Box Car children. I loved their independence and camaraderie!

I loved how they worked together to make a home out of an abandoned boxcar. At that age, I thought it was so cool that they could function without adult supervision. 🙂 I don’t remember the stories now, but I do remember they always left me with a sense of my own abilities. They filled me with confidence. If the Box Car children could do it, I could too! 🙂

And I feel that’s what reading should do for kids, fill them with confidence and pride. 🙂 Books can do this in so many ways, by providing good role models and teaching life lessons. That’s what I hope to accomplish with my Super Spies series. 🙂

So there you have it! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and reading my post and let’s help support Megan in her quest to encourage children to read. 🙂 Stop by her blog http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.com/ and leave a comment or enter one of her giveaways! 🙂

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Children's Event and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Question for Megan’s Children’s Book Event

  1. Hey, Lisa! The Boxcar Children! Now that’s going back a few years! I was never hooked into a series, I went mostly for the classics like Little Women. Jo has the right stuff! Shared for you and Megan! Cheers!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Hey Sharon! You’re right the Boxcar Children is going back a few years, but did you know they’re still around! LOL! You can get them on Amazon! 🙂 By the way I loved “Little Women” and Jo was my favorite too! Isn’t that funny? Thanks for all your support Sharon! It is greatly appreciated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

