Children’s Event! Here are the answers to those questions! :)

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! I’m here today to answer some questions from Megan from

http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk/.  The questions that I’m answering today are: What is your first memory of reading as a child?  Do you have memories of your parents reading bedtime stories to you? And, do you think it’s important to read bedtime stories to your children?

So here we go!

What is my first memory of reading as a child?

I would have to say it is the first time my mother brought home a Bobbsey Twins mystery for me. I was SO EXCITED! You see, it was the first gift that I can remember getting for no reason and I didn’t have to share it with my brother or sister. It was just for me! J It was also the first chapter book that she had ever bought for me and I was consumed by the story. I kept the bag that it came in and I would get on my bike and ride around the neighborhood with that bag clutched in my hand as I gripped the handlebars. It would sway in the breeze and I felt sooo grown up! J You see, I was pretending to ride my bike to the book store and buy the book on my own. J Yeah, I had a very active imagination (still do!). But from there, more books arrived and I would sneak out of my bed at night and hide in the upstairs bathroom and read by the night light. J The next series that I became interested in were the Trixie Belden series and Nancy Drew series. My life was complete as long as I had a book to read. J

Do you have memories of your parents reading bedtime stories to you?

I don’t have specific memories of them reading to me at bedtime but I’m sure they did, otherwise where would I have developed my love of reading? J

Do you think it’s important to read bedtime stories to your children?

Absolutely! I started reading to both boys when they were babies and they would love to cuddle with me while a read before their nap or bedtime. We’ve made it a habit to read together almost every night. However, it’s changed since they’ve started school and reading on their own. Now, they read to me and it’s so much fun seeing what their interests are and how they’re developing as readers.

I also feel very strongly that reading helps youngsters develop self-esteem and it’s instrumental in helping develop social and analytical skills. And it’s my firm belief that the more a child reads the better he/she will do academically.

So get out there and get your kids interested in reading! It’s good for them. And they’re more likely to read if you let them read what they want. Even comic books are okay!

If you’ve got a tween/or teen who’s interested in mysteries! Have them check out my Super Spies series!

http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-Lady-Killer-ebook/dp/B007JZH61K

http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-School-Bomber-ebook/dp/B008P8O7OY

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Children's Event and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

