Thoughts on my High School Reunion

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you today! I’ve been busy with my son’s sixth birthday and getting ready for school. As the kids get older it just seems like we get busier and busier. J

The same day we had my son’s birthday party I also had my 30th High School Reunion. I couldn’t believe it, thirty years have gone by in a blink of an eye.

I was excited as I got ready for my reunion. I would be seeing people that I hadn’t seen in years some of them not since graduation. Then I got nervous.

Being an introvert, I was always self concious and shy in high school. In fact, some people even thought I was stuck up. (I’ve learned this since graduation.) And I can see where people would have gotten that impression. I wasn’t though, I was just shy and insecure. I started to worry, would people talk to me? Would they even remember me?

My anxiety was unfounded though, everyone was warm and friendly and it was a great night. I got to talk to people that I hadn’t been close to in school because we just ran in different circles. It was nice to get to know them and hear about their interesting lives.

I was able to reconnect with friends that I hung out with in school but had lost touch because of college, careers, and/or marriage. It was nice to see them and rekindle those friendships. I’m sure social media will be a great way to keep in touch with those people from out of state.

So, if I can be so bold as to suggest some advice to teens preparing for their high school years, it’s this. Have fun and get involved. Don’t let fear and insecurity keep you from making friends. I know it doesn’t seem like it now, but high school can be some of the best years of your life. Make as many friends as you can, you’ll be surprised how long those friendships will last.

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts on my High School Reunion

  1. Lindsay says:

    I have absolutely no desire or want to go to my high school reunions.

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      I know how you feel Lindsay. I was feeling kind of nervous myself but I ended up having a lot of fun. I was fortunate and had a lot of great friends in school, but I know others aren’t quite as lucky and high school can be a time of great angst. I know I had periods of anxiety, but we all somehow manage to get through it. 🙂

  2. Lisa Orchard says:

    When I say I had a lot of great friends, I did but I wish I had had more confidence then and I would have had even more friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

