Let’s get Real by Jessie Andersen

Hello Everyone! Thanks for stopping by. I’ve got Jessie Andersen as a guest today. She’s a fellow Astraea Press author and her latest release is titled “At what Cost.” . She’s got an interesting article for everyone, so check it out and let us know what you think!

Teen issues: Let’s be real.

Some people balk at the idea that authors write about issues like drug abuse, alcohol consumption, driving under the influence, teen pregnancy and abortion in young adult literature. But let’s be real, folks, teens deal with these issues with or without reading about them, many times on a daily basis. I believe it’s my job to present some of these issues in a realistic manner, and to use my writing as an opportunity to show a few alternatives to these issues to the teens who will read my stories.

I’m a mother, and as I raise my children, I want them to avoid some mistakes that I’ve seen so many people make. My mother used to pray this prayer for me and my brothers, “Lord, let them not do anything so stupid that they can’t live with it.” Fortunately for her, it worked. God is good. J But I see so many teenagers making mistakes that can be avoided. Notice I didn’t say easily avoided, but avoided nonetheless. And please know, it’s not like me or my brothers were perfect by any means, (my brothers especially *wink*) but there were some things we didn’t have to deal with because of the choices we made.

Unfortunately, we can’t erase the issues that come up in teenagers’ lives. I wish we could. There are many times in my life that I’d love to go back and erase a decision or two, but we can’t. We have to learn to deal with the consequences of our actions, to live through them and to grow because of them. Sometimes, like with the teen pregnancy shown in my book, it’s a huge consequence.

For some reason, teen pregnancy and abortion are issues that hit my heart. I hate to see a young person have to struggle with raising a child when he or she is still a child. It’s hard enough to do as an adult. But even more, I hate to see a life snuffed out because a young person wants to make a hasty choice. Our tendency as humans is to quickly get rid of the problem, whatever it is. But sometimes, it’s not that easy. Sometimes taking what seems like the easy road at first, brings about the hard road later on.

It’s important not to downplay the types of issues teenagers are dealing with. We can’t ignore them, and we can’t make them go away. Instead, we must teach kids how to deal effectively with them and how to live with the consequences of those actions. Teenagers aren’t dumb. They know, be it, when reading a story or talking to an adult, when people are patronizing them. Give it to them real. Show them the real consequences to some of the things they might face in their teen years, and then hope and pray that they’ll make wise choices based on the truth.

So, for the teens out there reading this, I seem to be speaking more to adults in this post. Sorry about that. It wasn’t my intent, but sometimes the words just come out. Just know that even though we adults may seem overbearing at times, we do the things we do because we love you and want to see you happy in the future. We just may not go about it in the best way. I know you’re smart kids. You can put two and two together and make good choices. But the key to making those choices is to make them before the situation arises. Don’t let your temptations guide you. Use your head and stick to your decisions.

Okay, I’ve given enough advice for one post. Farewell, all. Thanks for putting up with my blabbing today.

You can find Jessie’s books here:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/At-What-Cost-ebook/dp/B008BEDPPO

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/at-what-cost-j-andersen/1111557851?ean=2940014771320

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let’s get Real by Jessie Andersen

  1. jvdlandersen says:

    Lisa, thanks so much for having me today. It was a pleasure to guest post here. 🙂

  2. Great interview, Jessie, and some great advice for writing/talking to teens!

Leave a Reply

