Lindsay Downs talks about Bullying!

Image

Hello Everyone! I hope you had a great 4th of July weekend! I’ve got fellow Astraea Press author Lindsay Downs here and she’s going to discuss bullying and her newest release in the Emily Dahill CID Series! I read the first one and loved it and I’ll definitely purchase the second one!  Take it away Lindsay!

Bullying
What’s it like to be bullied? Constantly teased, tormented and made to think you’re less than you really are. Sometimes you might be called stupid or dummy. In a crowd people will walk right by you, bumping into you and not say anything. In school you will be picked last, especially when it comes to sports.

What can you do about it? Everything or nothing. Growing up I was bullied, and trust me it wasn’t fun. At least I had parents who cared. I was able to talk to them about it and instead of telling me it’s just part of growing up they contacted the school. Back then schools didn’t give lip service or deny it existed but did something about it. The students in questioned were disciplined.

The damage, however, was done and in some aspects it’s still effecting my life. I’ve developed a severe distrust of people and sensitivity to what is said to and about me.

Now a days, there is a fancy word for bullying, even though that word is still used. It’s called harassment and we see it every day. One place is on TV. Case in point, the show NCIS. Every week at least once Tony DiNozzo says or does something to Timothy McGee that in the normal workplace would get Tony fired. Not only that, but Gibbs would be disciplined for allowing it to happen.

So, you are probably asking yourself what does all this have to do with my newest release from Astraea Press, Emily Dahill, CID Part 2.

A year or so back, while I was developing the characters Emily and Dakota, a friend said I should enter a YA contest of FB. After some discussion I finally agreed and came up with the idea of Tears, about a teenage girl being bullied in school.

If you have read any of the Emily Dahill Series then you know Emily has a fear, which I’m not saying. To show a human side and give her more depth I decided that Emily would be involved in bullying when she was in school. Not as the recipient but as the bully and what happened to her when she was caught.

Here’s the scene from the story where Emily reveals to Mary and us a little known, but unfortunate period in her life-
Emily squirmed a little. Guess the truth hurts sometimes. Like now. “No, Mary. I wasn’t teased. I did the teasing until my dad heard about it. You know what physical training is like, right?”

Mary nodded.

“Try it for three hours in the morning and afternoon,” Emily continued. “Mom and Dad didn’t believe in spanking. But pull‑ups, sit‑ups, push‑ups, anything with ‘up’ in the name they were in favor of.”

“Ouch.”

So you see, even a heroine isn’t always perfect.

This is how Dakota, my hero, sees bullying-

Hearing the words but not understanding them and then the laughter, Dakota only knew who was not happy. With a slight tip of his head to Mary, his worst fears were confirmed. He rubbed his head against her leg with the hope that she’d feel his care and concern. Within seconds, she picked up her speed. Even a collie knew when to get away from the “meanies.” And those people laughing at his friend were just that.

He followed her from the crowd then stopped and peered over his shoulder, studying the features of the kids. Dakota suspected in his gut that he’d be seeing one or two sometime in the not-too-distant future. Handcuffed. He didn’t bother to guess who because he’d learned humans weren’t rational like his kind. They could be good one minute and bad the next, like what he’d heard Ron had done to Mary. The greater the distance they put between themselves and the others, the more he felt Mary’s tension dissipate.

I wish I had the answer on how to stop bullying and harassment. There isn’t a simple solution to this complex problem. Politicians have tried to get involved by passing laws-they don’t work or are not enforced. Schools claim to have a no tolerance policy but turn a blind eye. Parents say it’s all in your imagination.

Even when children in grade school try or succeed in a suicide attempt there is a lot of talk and no action. It took a YouTube video of a grandmother being bullied, which went viral; to get those students punished.

This story and the other three in the collection are available at the following eBook stores.

Emily Dahill, CID Part 2

Tears- Bullied at school, Mary Todd is just about to give up when Dakota and Emily come to her rescue.

Friends and Family- Dakota helps a she-wolf and her cubs while he continues to cause mischief with hilarious results
Guardian- Against all odds Dakota works to protect Emily, from her boyfriend and herself

The Loser- Emily and Dakota step into intrigue when a soldier can’t hit the target with any degree of consistency.

Astraea Press          Amazon                           B&N

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lindsay Downs talks about Bullying!

  1. Lindsay says:

    Thanks so much for having my guesting, talking about very important topic and promote my newest release.

    • lisaorchard says:

      You’re welcome Lindsay! You are absolutely correct bullying is a major problem and it’s something we really need to take seriously! I’m going to be getting your new book sometime this week! I’m looking forward to it! 🙂

  2. How interesting to read about bullying from the point of view of the bully. And I love the punishment her parents implemented. Very creative, and I’m sure it would be effective.

  3. Iris Blobel says:

    So sorry to hear about your experience when you were younger. It is a scary topic indeed, and as a mother I often worry whether I over- or underreact – Or whether I’ve got it right! Loved all your books so far, and I’m really looking forward to this one as well !!! Congratulations on the release of ED CID 2 – Well done!

  4. URL says:

    I believe other web site proprietors ought to take this internet website as an example , extremely clean and great user genial style . 748458

  5. I genuinely enjoy searching at on this site , it has great content material . 54190

  6. Hi. Cool post. Theres a difficulty with the web site in chrome, and you may want to check this The browser may be the marketplace chief and a big component of other folks will miss your superb writing due to this difficulty. I like your Post and I am recommend it for a Web site Award. 38862

    • lisaorchard says:

      Thanks so much! I appreciate your comments on the difficulty with the website. We are looking for a new host at the moment, because we’ve had some issues with this site. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  7. site says:

    Hey there. I want to to ask slightly somethingis this a wordpress internet log as we are preparing to be transferring more than to WP. Furthermore did you make this template all by yourself? A lot of thanks. 654432

  8. Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write on my web site something like that. Can I contain a portion of your post to my site? 735029

  9.   says:

    You wouldnt feel it but Ive wasted all day digging for some articles about this. You may be a lifesaver, it was an exceptional read and has helped me out to no finish. Cheers! 361041

  10. Would love to perpetually get updated great blog ! . 54098

Leave a Reply

