The movie “Bully”

I just got back from the movie Bully, and I must say it was different than what I expected. I walked into the theater believing I was going to see a story about a young boy who was bullied, but stood up for himself and won out in the end. That’s not what happened, it was real life and it was heartbreaking.

I won’t give you the details, because I don’t want to spoil the movie for you. I encourage you to see it, especially if you’re a parent.

Bullying is a REAL PROBLEM. Kids are committing suicide because of it. The kids who are being bullied need to tell their parents. They need to speak up. They need to speak up before they hurt themselves or someone else. Because it can happen both ways, the victim will retaliate and either hurt themselves or the bullies. Think about what happened at Columbine. That event was a direct result of bullying.

I thought of my two little boys as I watched this movie, and I’m so grateful that the public school they attend has taken a stand against bullying. They don’t even let them use the word hate in the classroom. I love it. More schools need to do this, because this is where most of the bullying takes place, in the hall, on the bus, and in the bathrooms.

School administrators need to watch this movie, because some of them were caught on tape turning a blind eye. Attitudes like that leave the victim feeling powerless.

One thing that I did get out of the movie was that if the victim stands up for himself or herself early in the bullying process, it usually stops. We need to teach our kids to stand up for themselves. I’m definitely going to teach my kids that and I’m going to enroll them in self defense classes. 🙂

I’m going to teach them that they don’t have to be victims.

About Lisa Orchard

I'm a Young Adult Author with two new series, "The Starlight Chronicles" and "The Super Spies." The first one's a coming of age series and the second one's a mystery/thriller series. I'm also the mother of two boys who keep me hopping and they're my inspiration for everything. When I'm not shuttling my boys to school or a play date, I'm writing. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, hiking, or sometimes running. I love anything chocolate and scary movies too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

